Future lectures

Syndicate content
Tuesday, 30 June 2015 - 6:00pm

In this lecture, Anthony Geraghty will reveal how Sir Christopher Wren went about rebuilding over fifty churches in the decades after...

Tuesday, 7 July 2015 - 6:00pm

London was, during the Second World War, the largest and most obvious target, and the most badly-bombed city in the country. Ideas about...

Wednesday, 8 July 2015 - 6:00pm

The benefits of singing in a choir are many and various. In particular, there are positive physical outcomes and mental health benefits...

Thursday, 9 July 2015 - 6:00pm

A discussion of the history of busking and street music in the City of London. Drawing on a range of historic sources –...

Monday, 13 July 2015 - 6:00pm

Modern civilization depends on both energy and water. The world is facing crises in the availability of both. Water is needed to produce...

Tuesday, 22 September 2015 - 6:00pm

The NHS had been established by the post-war Labour government in 1948. By 1951, there were already heavy pressures on health spending....

Wednesday, 23 September 2015 - 1:00pm

The universe underwent an inflationary period of expansion. From an extremely hot beginning, it cooled down then reheated to form the...

Thursday, 1 October 2015 - 6:00pm

How much would you pay to avoid a recession? In other words, can we place a price on the economic costs of business cycle fluctuations?...

Wednesday, 7 October 2015 - 6:00pm

‘War Crimes’ – do we use the term too casually? Commentators have usually assumed the Israel-Palestine armed conflict...

Thursday, 8 October 2015 - 1:00pm

At the heart of virtually all the medieval music that survives, is the human voice. This is an ancient heritage. The early Christians...

Tuesday, 13 October 2015 - 1:00pm

This lecture will consider the place of evidence in science and religion, looking particularly at some of the debates about the...

Tuesday, 13 October 2015 - 6:00pm

These poems retain a stubborn opacity and no interpretation is ever wholly satisfactory. The difficulty of Eliot's poetry is partly a...