Device is incompatible to play the video
Monday, 12 March 1990, 12:00AM

Healing and the Spirit: Holistic Biology

Dr Roger Taylor explains how, as a scientist, he walks a tightrope between reductionism and holism. What is the place of complementary or homeopathic healing in medical science?

Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

Zombie Ants and Fearless Mice: Parasites and the Brain

Dr Tristram Wyatt
Tuesday, 26 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Myth of the Lone Heroic Surgeon

Professor Roger Kneebone
Wednesday, 27 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gender, Marriage, Divorce and Human Sexuality

The Revd Canon Professor Richard Burridge
Thursday, 28 February 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Food Security: A Poisoned Chalice of Plant Adaptation

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 5 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How Astronomy Changed our View of the Cosmos: from Gresham to the 21st Century

Professor Joseph Silk FRS
Wednesday, 6 March 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How to be a Puritan Atheist

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 14 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Volcanoes and Society

Professor Sir Stephen Sparks CBE
Wednesday, 20 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Castles in the Air: Making and Inhabiting a Different Reality

Professor Paul Fletcher
Tuesday, 19 February 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Infections of the Lung and Heart

Professor Chris Whitty
Wednesday, 13 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Varieties of Forgiveness

The Revd Dr Stephen Cherry
Thursday, 7 February 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

50 Years of Lunar Exploration

Professor Joseph Silk FRS
Wednesday, 30 January 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Evolution since Sir Thomas Gresham: How Changes Over The Past Five Centuries Have Moulded Evolution

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 29 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Humphry Davy and his Experiments with Nitrous Oxide

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

What is it about Cocaine that makes it addictive?

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:55PM
WATCHED

The Role of Collaboration in Nature and its Link to Success

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

The Offspring of Semi-Female Mimics in Ruffs

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

What Is The Advantage To The Flowers That Are 'Orchid-Mimics'?

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:56PM
WATCHED

An Interesting Fact About Female Swordtail Fish

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:55PM