Device is incompatible to play the video
Thursday, 26 October 2017, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

How To Spot A Roman Emperor

Professor Mary Beard FSA FBA

At the request of the speaker, this video is no longer available to view on our website or YouTube channel

Mary Beard, Professor of Classics at the University of Cambridge, Fellow of Newnham College, and Royal Academy of Arts Professor of Ancient Literature - who is also well-known for her media appearances - will speak on the fascinating topic of images of Roman Emperors.

As well as being the Annual Royal Historical Society's Colin Matthew Lecture, the talk is also linked to the City of London's Roman Festival 'Londinium' in Autumn 2017.

Speaker_MaryBeard_370x370.jpg

Mary  is Professor of Classics at the Univeristy of Cambridge, Fellow of Newnham College, and Royal Academy of Arts Professor of Ancient Literature.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Taking London to the World: Robert Paul Shows his Native City in Motion

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 25 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Cemetery in the Age of Pericles

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 7 March 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gresham’s Bequest to Samuel Pepys and John Evelyn

Margaret Willes
Monday, 11 March 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How to be a Puritan Atheist

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 14 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Art and Power in the English Aristocratic House

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 20 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Cruelty to Animals

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 21 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gresham's World: Global Traffic, Trade, and the Metamorphosis of England

Professor Nandini Das
Wednesday, 6 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Architecture, Images and Image-Making Under The Stuarts

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 30 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Evolution since Sir Thomas Gresham: How Changes Over The Past Five Centuries Have Moulded Evolution

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 29 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How to be a Shakespearean Atheist

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 24 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sacred Listening: The Voices and Music of the Gods

Professor Tom Service
Monday, 14 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham, London, and Europe

Dr Ian Archer
Wednesday, 9 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Why Do You Use The Word Victim Rather Than Survivor?

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 22 November 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

From 1911-31, To What Extent Do You Think There Was A One-Way Conversation Between Western and Chinese Art and Why?

Professor Craig Clunas
Monday, 20 November 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM