Device is incompatible to play the video
Wednesday, 17 April 2019, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

Mining Volcanoes: Diamonds, Copper and Hot Water

Professor Richard Herrington


Volcanoes provide many natural resources from which society can benefit. Diamonds and most of the world’s copper are mined from eroded extinct volcanoes while many active volcanoes offer the possibility of extracting huge amounts of geothermal energy. The volcanic processes that transport diamonds to the Earth’s surface and enrich copper beneath volcanoes, show how volcanoes can be a major energy and resource.

Richard-Herrington.jpg

Professor Herrington is Head of Earth Sciences at the Natural History Museum.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Meaning, Value and Sanctity of Human Life

The Revd Canon Professor Richard Burridge
Thursday, 25 April 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Intertwined Impacts of Pollution and Inequality on Health

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Leonardo's Salvator Mundi: Scholarship, Science and Skulduggery

Professor Martin Kemp
Wednesday, 1 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Staying in Touch with Patients

Professor Roger Kneebone
Wednesday, 15 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Energy and Matter at the Origin of Life

Professor Nick Lane
Monday, 20 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Exploring Earth from Space

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 21 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Natural Environment of Tudor London

Professor Carolyn Roberts
Wednesday, 10 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Dying in Today's World

Professor Ilora Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, FMedSci
Tuesday, 9 April 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Crown, Country and the Struggle for Cultural Supremacy

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 3 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Infections of the Abdominal Organs

Professor Chris Whitty
Wednesday, 27 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Art and Power in the English Aristocratic House

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 20 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Deep Learning: Miracle or Snake Oil?

Professor Richard Harvey
Tuesday, 19 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Volcanoes and Society

Professor Sir Stephen Sparks CBE
Wednesday, 20 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Enormous Volcanic Eruptions

Professor Sir Stephen Sparks CBE
Wednesday, 14 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

What is it about Cocaine that makes it addictive?

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:55PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

William Morris and the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:57PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

The Role of Collaboration in Nature and its Link to Success

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

The Offspring of Semi-Female Mimics in Ruffs

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:58PM