Past lectures

Monday 20 October 2014

Nearly 20 years of archaeological investigation of the Thames intertidal zone at Greenwich, mostly undertaken by volunteer teams, have...

Thursday 16 October 2014

The world faces environmental challenges from global to local levels. Well-rehearsed but impenetrable issues, include the increased...

Wednesday 15 October 2014

The philosophical and historical development of what may be regarded as essential human rights will be traced.  It is essential to...

Tuesday 14 October 2014

The Morality of Samuel Johnson’s Rasselas. Dr Johnson was one of the most vigorous intellectuals of the eighteenth century...

Monday 13 October 2014

An overview of the results of over 40 years of archaeological research into the origins, development and decline of the Middle Saxon...

Thursday 9 October 2014

‘If I could play upon the guitar’, wrote John Keats in a letter, ‘I might make my fortune…’

This lecture will explore the...

Wednesday 8 October 2014

King James I was a gust of fresh air after the later years of Queen Elizabeth. Unlike his predecessor he was a family man, with dynastic...

Wednesday 8 October 2014

Ely Cathedral demands interpretation. Why was it built on an island in the watery fens and why is it so large and elaborate?

Is...

Monday 6 October 2014

The most extensive excavation within the City of London for 20 years revealed internationally significant evidence providing a detailed...

Thursday 2 October 2014

The lecture will take an overview of the role of everyday documents in illustrating the economic development of the United Kingdom in...

Monday 29 September 2014

This lecture explores new ways of understanding the crisis that brought war to Europe in the summer of 1914; reflects on some of the...

Wednesday 24 September 2014

The fourth edition of The Cambridge Economic History of Modern Britain, edited by Sir Roderick Floud, Professor Jane...