Past lectures

Thursday 18 September 2014

Money was linked historically to the value of commodities such as gold in order to help preserve its value and encourage its wide and...

Tuesday 16 September 2014

The seventeenth century mathematician Pierre de Fermat is mainly remembered for contributions to number theory even though he often...

Friday 12 September 2014

Somewhere in the centre of a space that contains economics, history and politics there is a need for the state to control the value of...

Monday 25 August 2014

Gresham College is thrilled to welcome Martin Elliott as our new Gresham Professor of Physic. Martin Elliott is Co-Medical Director at...

Monday 11 August 2014

Professor Carolyn Roberts is the first Frank Jackson Professor of the Environment at Gresham College. She is also a Senior Scientist at...

Monday 28 July 2014

Christopher Page, the Gresham Professor of Music, introduces his upcoming series of lectures, discusses the themes that will be...

Monday 21 July 2014

An introduction to Professor Tony Mann and his series of free public lectures on Computing Mathematics.

Thursday 17 July 2014

Matthew Flinders is remembered as one of Britain’s greatest navigator-explorers. But to what extent does the legend fit the...

Tuesday 8 July 2014

As Glasgow prepares to host the Commonwealth Games, Professor Philip Murphy, Director of the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, explores...

Wednesday 2 July 2014

An icon long associated with the City of London, the unmistakable bowler hat was an essential part of every City worker’s uniform...

Monday 30 June 2014

Singing affects us all in some way, but what is the science behind it? Discover the science that explains how singers can gain a wide...

Monday 30 June 2014

Tattoos are one of the ‘distinguishing marks’ specified in police descriptions, and long recorded on British passports. They...