Past lectures

Monday 27 July 2015

Our new Professor of Astronomy introduces his new lecture series,...

Monday 13 July 2015

Modern civilization depends on both energy and water. The world is facing crises in the availability of both. Water is needed to produce...

Wednesday 8 July 2015

The benefits of singing in a choir are many and various. In particular, there are positive physical outcomes and mental health benefits...

Tuesday 7 July 2015

London was, during the Second World War, the largest and most obvious target, and the most badly-bombed city in the country. Ideas about...

Tuesday 30 June 2015

In this lecture, Anthony Geraghty will reveal how Sir Christopher Wren went about rebuilding over fifty churches in the decades after...

Thursday 25 June 2015

The address by Sir Stephen will explore the reasons why the rules of civil procedure are so long and complex, and whether it is...

Monday 22 June 2015

Energy security and meeting the needs of both industry and consumers have become key topics for government. Major decisions will have to...

Thursday 18 June 2015

The Battle of Waterloo was fought on 18th June 1815. The 200th anniversary has prompted widespread commemoration. But what was the...

Wednesday 17 June 2015

In this last lecture, Dr Adshead will discuss the conceptual implication of the term 'treatment' in relation to violence reduction and...

Tuesday 16 June 2015

In his novels and essays, Dickens showed his considerable knowledge about the scientific developments in the 1850s and 1860s, which he...

Monday 15 June 2015

Flying is one of the safest modes of travel, and few of us consider a weekend flight to the Continent as hazardous, or crossing the...