Past lectures

Thursday 26 February 2015

Just as the Rosetta Stone and the Philae Obelisk became the key to interpreting hieroglyphs and understanding ancient Egyptian...

Wednesday 25 February 2015

Throughout recorded history people have consistently looked to nature as a source of knowledge about God. Robert Boyle shared this view...

Tuesday 24 February 2015

Written between the two World Wars, Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence is in part about a peculiarly modern phenomenon...

Thursday 19 February 2015

By the 1830s, guitars could be bought very cheaply at pawnbrokers’ shops, market stalls and the humblest of the ‘musical...

Wednesday 18 February 2015

In the 1990s a high mortality for certain operations became evident in Bristol as a result of findings by a ‘whistle-blowing...

Tuesday 17 February 2015

Many people have heard of the Möbius band, a one-sided surface, but the work of August Möbius was more far reaching than just inventing...

Monday 16 February 2015

Game Theory is a branch of mathematics which tells us how to outthink an opponent or competitor. The Prisoners' Dilemma is a paradox in...

Wednesday 11 February 2015

Humans have evolved from ape-like ancestors over millions of years, of course; but also over thousands, for there are several cases in...

Tuesday 10 February 2015

Creation and Last Judgement, or Big Bang and Gravitational Collapse? Science has gradually explained away many cosmological phenomena...

Tuesday 10 February 2015

There are competing philosophical views of reality. Main contenders are: common sense, reductive materialism, radical empiricism, and...

Thursday 5 February 2015

If the economy was to be regulated like a mechanism, what rules might be used to govern its fine-tuning? A number of insights have...