Past lectures

Monday 17 March 2014

Randomness is clearly important in computer games and in the Premium Bond prize draw.  But it is perhaps surprising that random...

Tuesday 18 February 2014

The modern theory of probability is considered to have begun in 1654 with an exchange of letters between Blaise Pascal and Pierre de...

Monday 17 February 2014

Computer systems use mathematics to fly aircraft, carry out complex financial transactions and calculate the optimal design for racing...

Thursday 23 January 2014

While ideas are undoubtedly more important than mere notations, the power of a good notation cannot be over-stated. As an example of...

Tuesday 21 January 2014

If we count the number of vertices, v, on a cube, v = 8, number of edges e = 12, and number of faces f = 6, then v¬ – e + f = 2. The...

Monday 20 January 2014

We all make mistakes when we use computer systems - forgetting to save the last document version, neglecting to add the promised email...

Tuesday 19 November 2013

One of the most important patterns that a mathematician looks for is whether or not an object has symmetries i.e. is left unchanged or...

Tuesday 22 October 2013

For centuries massive intellectual effort has gone into methods of ensuring secure communication, because of its importance in...

Thursday 10 October 2013

Combinatorial mathematics is concerned with selecting, arranging and counting objects of various kinds. Included under its wide umbrella...

Tuesday 17 September 2013

In 1972 the meteorologist, Edward Lorenz, delivered a lecture with the title Predictability: Does the Flap of a Butterfly’s Wings in...

Tuesday 14 May 2013

Mathematics is important to us all.  So it is important to enable young mathematicians, clear-thinking and passionate about their...

Monday 15 April 2013

The idea of a proof as a simple, easily-checked method of establishing truth has undergone modification in the age of computers.  ...