Past lectures

Tuesday 21 October 2014

In his Principia Isaac Newton used his law of universal gravitation and three laws of motion to explain elliptical planetary...

Tuesday 16 September 2014

The seventeenth century mathematician Pierre de Fermat is mainly remembered for contributions to number theory even though he often...

Wednesday 21 May 2014

From composers to painters, writers to choreographers, the mathematician’s palette of shapes, patterns and numbers has proved a powerful...

Tuesday 18 March 2014

Mathematics has proved to be of considerable benefit in modelling the population biology of infectious diseases by examining...

Monday 17 March 2014

Randomness is clearly important in computer games and in the Premium Bond prize draw.  But it is perhaps surprising that random...

Tuesday 18 February 2014

The modern theory of probability is considered to have begun in 1654 with an exchange of letters between Blaise Pascal and Pierre de...

Monday 17 February 2014

Computer systems use mathematics to fly aircraft, carry out complex financial transactions and calculate the optimal design for racing...

Thursday 23 January 2014

While ideas are undoubtedly more important than mere notations, the power of a good notation cannot be over-stated. As an example of...

Tuesday 21 January 2014

If we count the number of vertices, v, on a cube, v = 8, number of edges e = 12, and number of faces f = 6, then v¬ – e + f = 2. The...

Monday 20 January 2014

We all make mistakes when we use computer systems - forgetting to save the last document version, neglecting to add the promised email...

Tuesday 19 November 2013

One of the most important patterns that a mathematician looks for is whether or not an object has symmetries i.e. is left unchanged or...

Thursday 31 October 2013
A discussion of the core concepts of modern computing and their basis in history.
Dr Doron Swade offers a new analysis of...