Past lectures

Thursday 28 February 2013

There are many kinds of pattern in mathematics and many ways to think about them. But when it comes to visual patterns, one viewpoint...

Tuesday 19 February 2013

Not necessarily, for example the average person has fewer than two legs!  This is because some people have fewer than two legs but...

Monday 4 February 2013

Long multiplication, long division and logarithms are, for many, dim-remembered memories, and few now use these skills.  We...

Tuesday 22 January 2013

Carl Friedrich Gauss one of the greatest mathematicians, is said to have claimed: "Mathematics is the queen of the sciences and...

Tuesday 11 December 2012

For 100 years up to the end of the 19th century the study of geometry was completely changed with the development of non-Euclidean...

Thursday 22 November 2012

An exploration of the remarkable consequences of using Boltzmann's 1870s probability theory and cutting-edge 20th Century...

Tuesday 6 November 2012

We are familiar with the formula for solving a quadratic equation where the highest power of the unknown is a square.  The quest...

Tuesday 25 September 2012

In 1734 Bishop Berkeley published a witty and effective attack on the foundations of the calculus as developed by Newton and Leibniz....

Tuesday 15 May 2012

The Chief Scientific Adviser is the head of Home Office Science, which provides scientific advice and support to the whole range of the...

Tuesday 24 April 2012

Why are there so many different scoring systems in operation in sport? We look at how structuring matches into a series of sets affects...

Tuesday 27 March 2012

What can maths tells us about the best way to rig a rowing eight? Does a cox help or hinder a racing boat? How does the speed of a kayak...

Thursday 15 March 2012

A lecture to mark the publication of Professor Barrow's latest book, 100 Essential Things You Didn't Know You Didn't...