Past lectures

Tuesday 24 April 2012

Why are there so many different scoring systems in operation in sport? We look at how structuring matches into a series of sets affects...

Tuesday 27 March 2012

What can maths tells us about the best way to rig a rowing eight? Does a cox help or hinder a racing boat? How does the speed of a kayak...

Thursday 15 March 2012

A lecture to mark the publication of Professor Barrow's latest book, 100 Essential Things You Didn't Know You Didn't...

Tuesday 21 February 2012

Throwing things, and jumping up and down or along, lies at the root of many Olympic events. In the gymnasium, the velodrome, and the...

Tuesday 17 January 2012

We examine the striking patterns between world record performances in different sports and ask what events an ambitious nation should...

Tuesday 13 December 2011

Top athletes seem to get bigger and bigger. How does size affect performance? Why do some sports have weight categories while others don...

Tuesday 15 November 2011

How can Usain Bolt improve his world 100 metres sprint record significantly without improving his speed? How fast should he be able to...

Thursday 3 November 2011

Évariste Galois was born 200 years ago and died aged 20, shot in a mysterious early-morning duel in 1832. He left contributions to the...

Wednesday 19 October 2011

A lecture to mark the publication of Robin Wilson and Raymond Flood's new book.  Mathematics pervades our daily lives.  Our...

Tuesday 17 May 2011

What are the limits of proof, and what follows? – A timely look at the life and mathematical work of Alan Turing. As we approach...

Thursday 10 March 2011

Proofs are important not just for developing critical reasoning, and...

Tuesday 1 March 2011

Imagine that interstellar trade is possible at speeds close to the speed of light. It must incorporate the insights of Einstein's...