Past lectures

Monday 25 June 2012

London is a city of secrets, a shifting, seething mass of intrigue, venality and violence, in constant cultural flux. The perfect...

Friday 22 June 2012

The Rt. Hon. The Lord Mayor, Alderman David Wootton, examines the role, contribution and connections of the City and business -...

Wednesday 20 June 2012

How can the House of Commons engage more effectively with the public which it serves? Can modern technology assist this enterprise?...

Monday 18 June 2012

The urban detective has traditionally been a figure supremely able to penetrate the mysteries of the city, yet set apart from the...

Wednesday 13 June 2012

Interstellar space is not truly a vacuum devoid of matter. Mixed into vast diffuse clouds of atomic gas are minute grains of silicate...

Monday 11 June 2012

From his childhood acquaintance with London, when he feared he might become ‘a little robber or a little vagabond’, Charles...

Wednesday 6 June 2012

To millions of moviegoers around the world Cary Grant epitomises the glamour and style of Hollywood in its golden years.  With his...

Thursday 31 May 2012

Innovation is seen as the key to economic growth. But is this true of innovation in services,...

Tuesday 29 May 2012

Psalters containing the 150 Psalms were immensely popular medieval manuscripts, used by a wide array of patrons for liturgical,...

Wednesday 23 May 2012

One of the Coalition Government’s first actions was to attempt a bonfire of the quangos.  In order that the baby should not be...

Tuesday 22 May 2012

The fall of Margaret Thatcher left a legacy that was both contested and divisive. During the 1990s, the Conservative Party, under the...

Monday 21 May 2012

It was lovely last weekend.  Warm enough to wear shorts and sandals taking the dog for a walk in the park.  How can this...