Past lectures

Wednesday 13 November 2013

Many innocent Iranians suffered terrible atrocities and death in the regime of the Ayatollahs in the 1980s. The UN failed to record the...

Tuesday 12 November 2013

This lecture analyses early moves towards European unity in the early 1950s - the European Coal and Steel Community and the abortive...

Monday 11 November 2013

Many people agree with Gilbert and Sullivan that Darwinian man, though well behaved is nothing but a monkey shaved. The recent discovery...

Wednesday 6 November 2013

In 1863 Charles Baudelaire, wrote about the ‘Painter of Modern Life’ depicting the uniformity of male dress codes with its...

Tuesday 5 November 2013

Humour depends upon a delicate balance of emotional arousal (a threat, hostility, taboo, sexual arousal) and technique (mechanisms...

Thursday 31 October 2013
A discussion of the core concepts of modern computing and their basis in history.
Dr Doron Swade offers a new analysis of...
Thursday 31 October 2013

The afternoon programme will explore the history of computing from three novel standpoints. Jonathan Bowen reflects on the life and work...

Thursday 31 October 2013

This lecture is about an extraordinary set of English shipbuilding accounts dating from the 1290s, when the ports of London, Southampton...

Wednesday 30 October 2013

Deliberately blinding opponents has always been part of warfare.

Sophisticated protective armour has ancient origins. With the...

Tuesday 29 October 2013

In recent years, the diary of the private citizen has emerged as a particularly fertile source for both academic and non-academic...

Monday 28 October 2013

Fungal infections present major threats to the health of the world’s most important crops - rice, wheat, maize, potatoes, soybean...

Thursday 24 October 2013

In his lecture, Professor Miller will consider the concept of creativity in the context of his research into the history and philosophy...