Past lectures

Thursday 13 September 2012

Are we sleepwalking into the most serious economic challenge that we have ever faced without any serious thinking about its scale and...

Wednesday 12 September 2012

In the last twenty years several international courts have been established to try crimes committed in armed conflicts.  Public...

Thursday 12 July 2012

The cities of Northern Europe developed their trading links with our own City of London.  An important by product of their...

Tuesday 10 July 2012

In this talk Dr Robin Probert explains why human livelihoods depend so much on wild plant diversity. He outlines the current threats to...

Thursday 5 July 2012

In this lecture, Dominic Sandbrook, the acclaimed historian of Sixties Britain, marks the 50th anniversary of the City of London...

Wednesday 4 July 2012

How might the arts help 'reset' the direction of the human compass in our difficult times? Is an instrumentalist approach to the...

Tuesday 3 July 2012

Policy-makers are considering large-scale early intervention programs to enhance children's self-control, with the aim of reducing...

Tuesday 3 July 2012

The historian Niall Ferguson delivers a lecture, recorded at Gresham College in the heart of legal London, addressing the relationship...

Monday 2 July 2012

From the impressions of his first youthful visit, to his mature years when all doors opened for him, London was an important...

Thursday 28 June 2012

There is general agreement among non-family lawyers that family procedures should be more transparent. But exactly what role should the...

Tuesday 26 June 2012

David Cairns delivers this lecture ahead of the City of London Festival performance of Berlioz's Grande Messe des Morts Op. 5 (Requiem)...

Monday 25 June 2012

London is a city of secrets, a shifting, seething mass of intrigue, venality and violence, in constant cultural flux. The perfect...