Past lectures

Wednesday 24 April 2013

William Hartley (1862-1937) was an early Fleet Street photographer whose fame was achieved from his court room sketches from the Old...

Tuesday 23 April 2013

This event explores the question "What makes a good professional?" from a number of angles. Of particular interest is assessing the...

Thursday 18 April 2013

From brushfire wars to the Arab Spring, conflict seems endemic around the world. Diplomacy and delicate negotiation may bring fighting...

Wednesday 17 April 2013

The discipline of Ophthalmology is recognised both as an early adopter of new technology and a developer of novel techniques.  Soon...

Wednesday 17 April 2013

There is a whole Universe of different shapes, sizes and colours of galaxies. We shall look at some of the 'ordinary' galaxies and then...

Tuesday 16 April 2013

Tony Benn has been the most prominent modern spokesman of the movement for participatory democracy. It was he who secured the right of...

Monday 15 April 2013

The idea of a proof as a simple, easily-checked method of establishing truth has undergone modification in the age of computers.  ...

Wednesday 10 April 2013

International war crimes courts deal only with the responsibility of individuals for crimes they committed. In order to avoid...

Tuesday 9 April 2013

The concluding lecture takes the example of HIV/AIDS and discusses how reactions to the epidemic mirrored those found in the social and...

Tuesday 9 April 2013

In this lecture I shall look more directly at the idea which has been central to the others - namely that in fact it is not possible to...

Monday 8 April 2013

A review of the past ten years' of the Boyle Lecture and their contribution to the dialogue between Christianity and our...

Wednesday 27 March 2013

The Royal Academy of Music Baroque ensemble directed by Pawel Siwczak performed the following pieces to accompany Professor Hogwood's...