Past lectures

Thursday 10 March 2011

Proofs are important not just for developing critical reasoning, and...

Tuesday 1 March 2011

Imagine that interstellar trade is possible at speeds close to the speed of light. It must incorporate the insights of Einstein's...

Tuesday 1 February 2011

The first digits of randomly chosen numbers arising naturally or in human affairs display surprising statistical regularities. We will...

Tuesday 11 January 2011

Is there anything mathematically interesting about the paper sizes we use? We will see that their range of sizes has special features...

Tuesday 7 December 2010

The commercially available 'Superball' of hard rough rubber displays many counterintuitive properties which seem to violate Newton's...

Tuesday 16 November 2010

What are continued fractions?  How can they tell us what is the...

Thursday 4 November 2010

And first, the fair PARABOLA behold, Her timid arms with virgin blush unfold!...

Mathematical poetry may seem an unlikely form of...

Tuesday 5 October 2010

How pictures have been used in mathematics.  The use of...

Tuesday 4 May 2010

Felix Klein, one of the great nineteenth-century geometers, discovered in mathematics an idea prefigured in a Buddhist myth: the heaven...

Tuesday 9 March 2010

Maths can tell us unexpected things about sporting movement and performance. We look at some of the things that we can learn about...

Tuesday 9 February 2010

Simple maths can reveal how energy efficient different forms of transport are. We will look at how to drive as fuel efficiently as...

Tuesday 12 January 2010

Everything we buy, from books to baked beans, has a product code printed on it. More sophisticated check-digit codes exist on official...