Past lectures

Monday 28 September 2009

One of the reasons why people make mistakes is that the systems they use are badly designed, and this is perhaps nowhere more alarming...

Wednesday 13 May 2009

This event marks the publication of John D Barrow's latest book. 100 Essential Things You Didn't Know You Didn't Know answers one...

Tuesday 5 May 2009

250 years ago Daniel Bernoulli used mathematics and statistics to try to weigh the risks and benefits of inoculation against smallpox....

Tuesday 3 March 2009

How does maths shed light on the fixing of horse races? Why disabling the favourite is the best strategy to ensure a winning return. We...

Thursday 29 January 2009

Hanging chains and shapes of suspension bridges. The designs of some of the world's greatest bridges. The shapes of arches and domes....

Monday 12 January 2009

Some mathematics of straight lines. Why are electricity pylons made of triangular patterns of struts? Rigid shapes and flexible shapes....

Thursday 11 December 2008

The difference between series that are finite and infinite. Simple proofs by pictures. The ubiquity of the harmonic series. The Painter'...

Thursday 27 November 2008

The 16th-century instruments in the Museum of the History of Science in Florence provide one of the most attractive records of...

Tuesday 25 November 2008

The maths of surfaces and boundaries. Queen Dido's problem. The importance of shape. Examples from the natural world where it pays to...

Thursday 9 October 2008

An overview of different types of mathematics and its applications. What is mathematics and why does it 'work'? A look at the way...

Thursday 3 July 2008

Robin Wilson's new book (published by Penguin) is a celebration of one of the nineteenth century's most gifted minds, whose writings...

Wednesday 14 May 2008

400 years of geometry at Gresham College given by Henry Briggs (1561 - 1631) Henry Briggs was the first Gresham Professor of Geometry....