Past lectures

Wednesday 7 November 2007

How did numbers arise? How were they written down? What does it mean to say that numbers are rational, complex, or transcendental? What...

Wednesday 17 October 2007

From the writers of Mesopotamian tablets, via treachery in 16th-century Italy, to a famous duel fought in Paris, the history of algebra...

Wednesday 3 October 2007

From the Egyptian pyramids to modern sculpture, geometry has been at the heart of our culture. Central to this story has been '...

Tuesday 22 May 2007

This is the 2007 joint London Mathematical Society / Gresham College lecture.
The other lectures held in collaboration with the...

Wednesday 9 May 2007

Leönhard Euler (born 15 April 1707), the 'Mozart of mathematics', was probably the...

Wednesday 28 February 2007

What do we mean by exponential growth? How quickly does your bank balance grow? How quickly does a cup of tea cool, or radium decay?...

Wednesday 7 February 2007

What is meant by the square root of minus 1? why is it 'imaginary'? what are complex numbers, and why are they useful? how can we...

Wednesday 17 January 2007

The 'circle number' pi has fascinated people for thousands of years. Who first called it pi? who had it engraved on their tombstone? who...

Wednesday 15 November 2006

What is the Mandelbrot set? how can prime numbers protect your bank balance? and why is mathematics incomplete? More new mathematics...

Wednesday 25 October 2006

What is a number? can you solve a quintic equation? is Euclid true? and is the calculus correct? The 19th century witnessed major...

Wednesday 4 October 2006

What shape is the Earth? how do strings vibrate? can you construct a 65,537-sided polygon? and can you cross the seven bridges of...

Tuesday 2 May 2006

It is often said that mathematics and music go together, but what does this mean? This illustrated lecture features a small choir and...