Past lectures

Wednesday 20 February 2008

On 30 May 1832 a young Frenchman named Évariste Galois lay dying in a field outside...

Wednesday 6 February 2008

In the 8th century Alcuin of York described the wolf, goat and cabbage problem - so did Lewis Carroll over 1000 years later. This...

Wednesday 16 January 2008

WE ALL HAVE OUR PROBLEMS Mathematicians can be divided into theory-builders and problem-solvers. In these lectures, we look at some...

Thursday 15 November 2007

The First World War was the first time that war was fought in the air. Aircraft technology was in its infancy and mathematicians not...

Wednesday 7 November 2007

How did numbers arise? How were they written down? What does it mean to say that numbers are rational, complex, or transcendental? What...

Wednesday 17 October 2007

From the writers of Mesopotamian tablets, via treachery in 16th-century Italy, to a famous duel fought in Paris, the history of algebra...

Wednesday 3 October 2007

From the Egyptian pyramids to modern sculpture, geometry has been at the heart of our culture. Central to this story has been '...

Tuesday 22 May 2007

This is the 2007 joint London Mathematical Society / Gresham College lecture.
The other lectures held in collaboration with the...

Wednesday 9 May 2007

Leönhard Euler (born 15 April 1707), the 'Mozart of mathematics', was probably the...

Wednesday 28 February 2007

What do we mean by exponential growth? How quickly does your bank balance grow? How quickly does a cup of tea cool, or radium decay?...

Wednesday 7 February 2007

What is meant by the square root of minus 1? why is it 'imaginary'? what are complex numbers, and why are they useful? how can we...

Wednesday 17 January 2007

The 'circle number' pi has fascinated people for thousands of years. Who first called it pi? who had it engraved on their tombstone? Who...