Past lectures

Wednesday 9 May 2007

Leönhard Euler (born 15 April 1707), the 'Mozart of mathematics', was probably the...

Wednesday 28 February 2007

What do we mean by exponential growth? How quickly does your bank balance grow? How quickly does a cup of tea cool, or radium decay?...

Wednesday 7 February 2007

What is meant by the square root of minus 1? why is it 'imaginary'? what are complex numbers, and why are they useful? how can we...

Wednesday 17 January 2007

The 'circle number' pi has fascinated people for thousands of years. Who first called it pi? who had it engraved on their tombstone? Who...

Wednesday 15 November 2006

What is the Mandelbrot set? how can prime numbers protect your bank balance? and why is mathematics incomplete? More new mathematics...

Wednesday 25 October 2006

What is a number? can you solve a quintic equation? is Euclid true? and is the calculus correct? The 19th century witnessed major...

Wednesday 4 October 2006

What shape is the Earth? how do strings vibrate? can you construct a 65,537-sided polygon? and can you cross the seven bridges of...

Tuesday 2 May 2006

It is often said that mathematics and music go together, but what does this mean? This illustrated lecture features a small choir and...

Wednesday 29 March 2006

Mathematical techinques lie at the heart of modern forensic methods for investigating crime and bringing the criminal to justice. Across...

Wednesday 22 February 2006

Block designs are used in agriculture in connection with the planting of wheat. But earlier they arose in the so-called 'schoolgirls...

Wednesday 1 February 2006

Tree diagrams arise in many contexts, from family trees to chemical molecules, electrical networks, the design of canals and the bracing...

Wednesday 18 January 2006

We are all familiar with patterned wallpaper, but how many regular patterns are there? Can you tile your bathroom floor with square,...