Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 23 January 2018, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

Shakespeare's Lovers

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA


Download the lecture video here

William Shakespeare made his name as a poet before he became famous as a playwright. His erotic poem Venus and Adonis was the most popular work of literature of the Elizabethan Age, while its dark companion piece The Rape of Lucrece set the mould for Shakespeare’s exploration of the tragic consequences of sexual desire turning to violence. 

Jonathan Bate will show how Shakespeare developed these themes from his reading of the great Roman poet Ovid.

bate.jpg

Professor Bate is Gresham Professor of Rhetoric. He is a British academic, biographer, critic, broadcaster, novelist and scholar. He specialises in Shakespeare, Romanticism and Ecocriticism. He is Professor of English Literature at the University of Oxford, Provost of Worcester College, Oxford, and Honorary Fellow of Creativity at Warwick Business School.

Professor Bate began his tenure as Gresham Professor of Rhetoric with a series on Shakespeare. The topic for his second lecture series is Wordsworth and the Romantics.

All of Professor Bate's Gresham lectures can be accessed here.

Current Gresham Professor of Rhetoric

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shostakovich's Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk

Professor Marina Frolova-Walker
Tuesday, 26 March 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Crown, Country and the Struggle for Cultural Supremacy

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 3 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Spiritual Quest Against Religion

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 4 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Natural Environment of Tudor London

Professor Carolyn Roberts
Wednesday, 10 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Text Mining: A Test of Character

Professor Richard Harvey
Tuesday, 16 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

500 Years of Mathematics: Are We Living in a New Golden Age?

Professor Chris Budd OBE
Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Cruelty to Animals

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 21 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Art and Power in the English Aristocratic House

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 20 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How to be a Puritan Atheist

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 14 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gresham’s Bequest to Samuel Pepys and John Evelyn

Margaret Willes
Monday, 11 March 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Cemetery in the Age of Pericles

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 7 March 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Taking London to the World: Robert Paul Shows his Native City in Motion

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 25 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Byron and the Age of Sensation

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Cockney Romantics: John Keats and his Friends

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 14 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Lakes from Wordsworth to Beatrix Potter

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 December 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Child

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 20 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Wordsworth, Coleridge and the Poetic Revolution

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 16 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Origins of Romanticism

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 18 September 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Fame

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 8 May 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Ghosts and Spirits

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 27 March 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Politics

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 27 February 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Heroes

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 28 November 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's London and Ancient Rome

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 17 October 2017 - 6:00PM