Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 27 February 2018, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

Shakespeare's Politics

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA


Download the lecture video here

It is well known that Shakespeare lived in an age of monarchy and wrote powerfully in his English history plays about the duties of the sovereign. 

In this lecture, Jonathan Bate will tell another, forgotten story: of how Shakespeare was also fascinated by Roman political models, especially the theory of civic duties expounded by Cicero, who appears as a character in Julius Caesar. He will also show how Shakespeare looked to Horace for a model of the public role of the writer.

bate.jpg

Professor Bate is Gresham Professor of Rhetoric. He is a British academic, biographer, critic, broadcaster, novelist and scholar. He specialises in Shakespeare, Romanticism and Ecocriticism. He is Professor of English Literature at the University of Oxford, Provost of Worcester College, Oxford, and Honorary Fellow of Creativity at Warwick Business School.

Professor Bate began his tenure as Gresham Professor of Rhetoric with a series on Shakespeare. The topic for his second lecture series is Wordsworth and the Romantics.

All of Professor Bate's Gresham lectures can be accessed here.

Current Gresham Professor of Rhetoric

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Child

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 20 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Theatre of Dionysus

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 29 November 2018 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Understanding Violent People

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 6 December 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Lakes from Wordsworth to Beatrix Potter

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 December 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham, London, and Europe

Dr Ian Archer
Wednesday, 9 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sacred Listening: The Voices and Music of the Gods

Professor Tom Service
Monday, 14 January 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Has the Internet Changed News for Better or Worse? 250 Years of Technology

Professor Steve Schifferes
Thursday, 15 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Enormous Volcanic Eruptions

Professor Sir Stephen Sparks
Wednesday, 14 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Ending of World War I: The Road to 11 November

Professor David Stevenson
Wednesday, 7 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Shakespeare's Stages

Michael Pennington
Tuesday, 6 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How the Reformation Trained Us to Be Sceptics

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 1 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Bribery and Corruption in the City

Nicholas Cooke QC
Tuesday, 30 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Byron and the Age of Sensation

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Cockney Romantics: John Keats and his Friends

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 14 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Lakes from Wordsworth to Beatrix Potter

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 December 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Child

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 20 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Wordsworth, Coleridge and the Poetic Revolution

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 16 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Origins of Romanticism

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 18 September 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Fame

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 8 May 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Ghosts and Spirits

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 27 March 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Lovers

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 23 January 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Heroes

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 28 November 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's London and Ancient Rome

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 17 October 2017 - 6:00PM