Monday, 27 March 2006, 12:00AM

The Pathology of Discovery and Conquest

Professor Linda Newson

This lecture examined the spread of diseases that accompanied European expansion overseas from the fifteenth century, paying particular attention to their demographic impact in Americas.

Transcript

27 March 2006

The Pathology of Discovery and Conquest
Professor Linda Newson

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

The Zika Virus, Dengue and the Yellow Fever Mosquito

Professor Francis Cox DSc
Thursday, 15 September 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Victoria

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 20 September 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

'The Cradle of Stonehenge'? Blick Mead - a Mesolithic Site in the Stonehenge Landscape

Professor David Jacques FSA
Wednesday, 21 September 2016 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Ten Things You Really Should Know About Ancient Greek Democracy

Professor Paul Cartledge
Tuesday, 27 September 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Ten Cities that Built an Empire: Understanding British Imperialism Through the Urban Past

Tristram Hunt MP
Wednesday, 5 October 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Early River Thames: The Iron Age and Before

Jon Cotton
Monday, 10 October 2016 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Conspiracy Theories: A Threat to Democracy?

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 16 June 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Changing Minds and Changing Risk

Professor Gwen Adshead
Wednesday, 15 June 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Universities: Some Policy Dilemmas

The Rt Hon the Baroness Blackstone
Thursday, 9 June 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Criminal Mind: The relationships between criminology and psychology

Professor Gwen Adshead
Tuesday, 7 June 2016 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

London's Great Fire and its Aftermath

Dr Stephen Porter
Wednesday, 1 June 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Size of a Walnut: Your Heart in Their Hands

Professor Martin Elliott
Wednesday, 25 May 2016 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Is Mental Health Worth Less Than Physical Health?

Professor Gwen Adshead
Wednesday, 18 May 2016 - 6:05PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Housing Crisis a Catastrophe that will rebuild London

Dr Simon Thurley
Wednesday, 11 May 2016 - 6:30PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Blitz a Catastrophe that made London

Dr Simon Thurley
Wednesday, 11 May 2016 - 6:25PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Railways a Catastrophe that made London

Dr Simon Thurley
Wednesday, 11 May 2016 - 6:20PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Great Fire a Catastrophe that made London

Dr Simon Thurley
Wednesday, 11 May 2016 - 6:15PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Reformation a Catastrophe that made London

Dr Simon Thurley
Wednesday, 11 May 2016 - 6:10PM