Tuesday, 17 January 2017
Museum of London

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields

A question from the lecture 'Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?' by Dr Juliet Shields

2017-01-17_FULLBRIGHT_speaker_370x370.jpg

Dr Shields is an Associate Professor in the Department of English at the University of Washington.

Read More
Read Less
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

Terrorism in Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Tuesday, 19 June 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Conversion of T.S. Eliot

The Rt Revd Lord Harries
Wednesday, 13 June 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Nelson Mandela in the 21st Century

Professor Elleke Boehmer
Wednesday, 6 June 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Russia After Communism

Bridget Kendall MBE
Wednesday, 30 May 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Riddle of Ancient Sparta: Unwrapping an Enigma

Professor Paul Cartledge
Tuesday, 29 May 2018 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

The 30 Years' War (1618-48) and the Second Defenestration of Prague

Professor Peter Wilson
Wednesday, 23 May 2018 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Why Do You Use The Word Victim Rather Than Survivor?

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 22 November 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

From 1911-31, To What Extent Do You Think There Was A One-Way Conversation Between Western and Chinese Art and Why?

Professor Craig Clunas
Monday, 20 November 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

Sir Walter Scott's Involvement In King George IV Visiting Scotland

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:56PM