Thursday, 18 October 2012, 1:00PM
Barnard's Inn Hall

Acting on Evidence: How Medical Research has informed Historical Drama

Professor John Powell

John Powell is an experienced medical advisor on a range of television dramas including Casualty 1909 and Downton Abbey. In this lecture he will explain how research in hospital archives and in medical journals has informed drama storylines, and how the television medical advisor works with the writer, the director and the production team on the script and on set.

professor-john-powell

Clinical Choices at NHS Direct.

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

18 October 2012

Acting on Evidence: How Medical Research has informed Historical Drama
Professor John Powell

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

From Royal Highway to Common Sewer: The River Thames and its Architecture

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 13 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Discovering the Port of Roman London

Dr Gustav Milne
Wednesday, 27 September 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Roman London's First Voices

Dr Roger Tomlin
Tuesday, 10 October 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

How To Spot A Roman Emperor

Professor Mary Beard FSA FBA
Thursday, 26 October 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Britain and the EU: In or Out - One Year On

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A World Without News?

Alan Rusbridger
Tuesday, 20 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Migration: A Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Right Stuff: How Do We Make 'Good' Doctors?

Professor Gwen Adshead
Wednesday, 14 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Fifty Years of Conservation Areas

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Gene Therapy - The Future has Arrived!

Professor Alan Boyd
Thursday, 25 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Humphry Davy and his Experiments with Nitrous Oxide

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

What is it about Cocaine that makes it addictive?

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:55PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM