Device is incompatible to play the video
Thursday, 4 June 2009, 12:00AM

How we reached the Moon: Mankind’s incredible achievement

Jerry Stone

Current plans by both NASA and ESA's Aurora project propose manned flights to the Moon, but this will actually be a return to the Moon, around 40 years after the last man stood on its surface. Here is a chance to see how it was done originally, with contemporary video, images and artists' impressions - plus a Moon globe on which you can feel the craters, and a four-foot Saturn V rocket!

jerry_stone.jpeg.crop_display.jpg
Read More
Read Less

Transcript

4 June 2009

How we reached the Moon: Mankind’s incredible achievement
Jerry Stone

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Deep Learning: Miracle or Snake Oil?

Professor Richard Harvey
Tuesday, 19 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Infections of the Abdominal Organs

Professor Chris Whitty
Wednesday, 27 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Dying in Today's World

Professor Ilora Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, FMedSci
Tuesday, 9 April 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Mining Volcanoes: Diamonds, Copper and Hot Water

Professor Sir Stephen Sparks CBE
Wednesday, 17 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Meaning, Value and Sanctity of Human Life

The Revd Canon Professor Richard Burridge
Thursday, 25 April 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Intertwined Impacts of Pollution and Inequality on Health

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How Astronomy Changed our View of the Cosmos: from Gresham to the 21st Century

Professor Joseph Silk FRS
Wednesday, 6 March 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Food Security: A Poisoned Chalice of Plant Adaptation

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 5 March 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Myth of the Lone Heroic Surgeon

Professor Roger Kneebone
Wednesday, 27 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Zombie Ants and Fearless Mice: Parasites and the Brain

Dr Tristram Wyatt
Tuesday, 26 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Volcanoes and Society

Professor Sir Stephen Sparks CBE
Wednesday, 20 February 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Psychosis: Making and Inhabiting a Different Reality

Professor Paul Fletcher
Tuesday, 19 February 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

What is it about Cocaine that makes it addictive?

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:55PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

The Role of Collaboration in Nature and its Link to Success

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

The Offspring of Semi-Female Mimics in Ruffs

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

What Is The Advantage To The Flowers That Are 'Orchid-Mimics'?

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:56PM
WATCHED

An Interesting Fact About Female Swordtail Fish

Professor Steve Jones
Tuesday, 31 January 2017 - 6:55PM