Monday, 27 March 2006, 12:00AM

The Pathology of Discovery and Conquest

Professor Linda Newson

This lecture examined the spread of diseases that accompanied European expansion overseas from the fifteenth century, paying particular attention to their demographic impact in Americas.

Transcript

27 March 2006

The Pathology of Discovery and Conquest
Professor Linda Newson

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

King George VI

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 25 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Eradication of Infectious Diseases

Professor Chris Whitty
Wednesday, 26 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Elizabeth II

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Right Stuff: Information, Privacy and the Ethics of Disclosure

Professor Gwen Adshead
Wednesday, 17 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Nice Work If You Can Get It: Life as a Children's Heart Surgeon

Professor Martin Elliott
Wednesday, 24 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Gene Therapy - The Future has Arrived!

Professor Alan Boyd
Thursday, 25 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Rise and Fall of Sourdough: 6000 Years of Bread

Professor Eric Pallant
Thursday, 23 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Xtreme Everest: Taking Medicine from Mountainside to Bedside

Professor Mike Grocott
Tuesday, 21 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

I Won't Have Blood! A Battle Between Belief and Duty?

Professor Martin Elliott
Wednesday, 15 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

King Edward VIII

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 14 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Value of Heritage and the Heritage of Value

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 8 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The February Revolution in Russia

Professor Dominic Lieven
Tuesday, 7 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

Sir Walter Scott's Involvement In King George IV Visiting Scotland

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:56PM
WATCHED

Was Your View Of Scotland Different Depending On Where You Were From?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:55PM
WATCHED

What Do You Think More's Intention Was In Writing 'Utopia'?

Dr Richard Serjeantson
Tuesday, 22 November 2016 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Was There A Reaction From The Crown And Aristocracy In Response to 'Utopia'?

Dr Richard Serjeantson
Tuesday, 22 November 2016 - 6:57PM