## TIMELINE.

1893. Independent Labour Party (ILP) formed. 1900. Labour Representation Committee (LRC) formed. Renamed Labour Party in 1906. 1918. Labour Party Constitution. 1924, 1929-1931. First two Labour minority governments led by Ramsay MacDonald. 1926. General Strike. 1931. Second MacDonald government collapses in the slump. 1940. Labour enters Churchill national coalition. 1945-1951. Labour's first majority government under Clement Attlee. 1956. Publication of Anthony Crosland's book. The Future of Socialism. 1964-1970, 1974-1979. Labour governments under Harold Wilson and James Callaghan. 1994. Tony Blair elected Labour leader after four election defeats. 1997-2010. Labour governments under Tony Blair and Gordon Brown.

2015. Jeremy Corbyn elected Labour leader after two election defeats.

2017. Large swing to Labour in general election.