Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 28 May 2013, 8:00PM
Stationers' Hall

Armageddon and the Cyberghost: Cyber-attacks as acts of war

Alexander Carter-Silk

The states' right to retaliate against attack is a central pole of international law and politics. But how are we to understand this in the age of the internet. Would China, Russia or the USA be right to retaliate against a cyber-attack from another state? Where would that leave the world today? ...We are a lot closer to international cyber-warfare than you might think.

Head of intellectual property, technology and data (IPTD), Speechly Bircham LLP.

Alexander Carter-Silk is a technology and IP specialist with over 25 years' experience advising on transactions and dispute resolution with a significant technology or intellectual property component. He has a reputation as a strategist and crisis manager as well as for robustly promoting and defending his clients' interests in commercial, corporate and contentious cases and transactions particularly where there is a potential risk to reputation or goodwill. He advises on technology intellectual property and cyber-risk including drafting insurance wording and advising on the insurance implications of technology and/or IP rich transaction and projects.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Political Lawyer

Professor Thomas Grant QC
Monday, 19 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

An Introduction to Algorithms

Professor Richard Harvey
Tuesday, 20 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Cosmic Vision: Attentive Eyes

Professor Katherine Blundell OBE
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

John Evelyn: Britain’s First Environmentalist

Gillian Darley OBE
Thursday, 29 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Connected Nature

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 3 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Cosmic Vision: Witnessing Fireworks

Professor Katherine Blundell OBE
Wednesday, 18 November 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Connected Humans

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 13 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Cosmic Vision: Watching the Radio

Professor Katherine Blundell OBE
Wednesday, 7 October 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Darwin, Breeding and Barnacles

Professor Jim Endersby
Monday, 5 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Does The State Really Care When It Kills You?

Professor Leslie Thomas QC
Thursday, 1 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Srebrenica: the New Evidence

Professor Sir Geoffrey Nice QC
Tuesday, 29 September 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The World of Isaac Newton

Professor Raymond Flood
Monday, 28 September 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a conference

Armageddon in Cyberspace: Panel Discussion

Ben Hammersley
Tuesday, 28 May 2013 - 8:30PM
WATCHED

Why 'Me Too' matters for Lawyers

Professor Jo Delahunty QC
Wednesday, 21 November 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

What is Information?

Professor Richard Harvey
Friday, 19 October 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

How old is the Universe?

Professor Raymond Tallis
Tuesday, 31 July 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Did Milosevic Need a Defense Counsel for his Trial?

Professor Sir Geoffrey Nice QC
Thursday, 19 July 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The Iron Laws of Politics

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 10 July 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Can you balance life as a Parent with you Career?

Professor Jo Delahunty QC
Tuesday, 26 June 2018 - 10:00AM