Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 25 February 2020, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Mercers' Hall

Thomas Becket and London

Professor Caroline Barron OBE

‘St Thomas has adorned…London by his rising and Canterbury by his setting’. 

This lecture will explore how the influence of Thomas Becket permeated city life in medieval London until Henry VIII ordered the destruction of his shrine and the removal of his name from all liturgical books. 

It will include consideration of the first stone bridge over the Thames made possible by offerings in the chapel dedicated to him; the hospital in Southwark; and the Becket family home in Cheapside (later the hall of the Mercers’ Company).

speaker_carolinebarron-370x370.jpg

Caroline is Professor Emerita in the Department of History at Royal Holloway, University of London. In 2019, she was awarded an OBE for her services to education.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Convincing Fiction

Professor John Mullan
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobites

Professor Murray Pittock
Monday, 2 November 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Ruling Passions: The Architecture of the Cecils

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 4 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Loving Animals: Historical Reflections on Bestiality, Zoophilia and Post-Human Love

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Monday, 9 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

What Do We Owe Society?

Professor Martin Daunton FBA
Tuesday, 10 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How Are Drones Changing Warfare?

Dr Sophy Antrobus MBE
Wednesday, 11 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Windrush Thinkers and Artists

Professor Richard Drayton
Monday, 26 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The African Diaspora in Britain

Professor Hakim Adi
Thursday, 22 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Political Lawyer

Professor Thomas Grant QC
Monday, 19 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Silence, and the Dynamising of African Creative Resistance

Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE
Thursday, 15 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Eve’s Evil Legacies

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 8 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Engels and Marx: Revolutionaries in London

Dr Tristram Hunt
Tuesday, 6 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Free the Nipple!

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The World's First Scientists

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 4:00PM
WATCHED

The World's First University?

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 23 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The Greatest Speech Of All Time?

Professor Edith Hall
Friday, 1 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

What is Greek Theatre?

Professor Edith Hall
Wednesday, 28 November 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Was Sappho Really a Women?

Professor Edith Hall
Tuesday, 11 September 2018 - 10:00AM