Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 30 October 2018, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

Bribery and Corruption in the City

Nicholas Cooke QC

Crime thrives in a social environment which is conductive to its commission, and it harms the society which spawns it most of all. That is as true of bribery and corruption as it is true of knife-armed postcode gangs. If the common ethical code that prevents the vast majority from offending in a particular way begins to break down, there is a serious problem.

Speaker_NicholasCookeQC.jpg

Nicholas is a Judge for the Central Criminal Court (Old Bailey)

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Windrush Thinkers and Artists

Professor Richard Drayton
Monday, 26 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Convincing Fiction

Professor John Mullan
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobites

Professor Murray Pittock
Monday, 2 November 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Ruling Passions: The Architecture of the Cecils

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 4 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Loving Animals: Historical Reflections on Bestiality, Zoophilia and Post-Human Love

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Monday, 9 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

What Do We Owe Society?

Professor Martin Daunton FBA
Tuesday, 10 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The African Diaspora in Britain

Professor Hakim Adi
Thursday, 22 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Political Lawyer

Professor Thomas Grant QC
Monday, 19 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Silence, and the Dynamising of African Creative Resistance

Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE
Thursday, 15 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Eve’s Evil Legacies

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 8 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Engels and Marx: Revolutionaries in London

Dr Tristram Hunt
Tuesday, 6 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Does The State Really Care When It Kills You?

Professor Leslie Thomas QC
Thursday, 1 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Trust-Busting or Trust-Building: How Can The City Earn Trust?

Charles Bowman
Thursday, 8 March 2018 - 5:30PM
WATCHED

Free the Nipple!

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The World's First Scientists

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 4:00PM
WATCHED

The World's First University?

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 23 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The Greatest Speech Of All Time?

Professor Edith Hall
Friday, 1 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

What is Greek Theatre?

Professor Edith Hall
Wednesday, 28 November 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Why 'Me Too' matters for Lawyers

Professor Jo Delahunty QC
Wednesday, 21 November 2018 - 10:00AM