Device is incompatible to play the video
Wednesday, 6 June 2012, 6:00PM
Barnard's Inn Hall

Cary Grant: Hollywood's exquisite, charming enigma

Geoffrey Wansell

To millions of moviegoers around the world Cary Grant epitomises the glamour and style of Hollywood in its golden years.  With his luminous dark hair and mischievous smile he was one of its greatest stars.  This lecture is an attempt to look behind the mask he presented to the world.

speaker_geoffreywansall.jpg.crop_display.jpg

Geoffrey Wansell is a London based author and free-lance journalist, who now works principally for the Daily Mail and the Daily Telegraph.

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

6 June 2012

Cary Grant: Hollywood's exquisite, charming enigma
Geoffrey Wansell

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Convincing Fiction

Professor John Mullan
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobites

Professor Murray Pittock
Monday, 2 November 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Ruling Passions: The Architecture of the Cecils

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 4 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Loving Animals: Historical Reflections on Bestiality, Zoophilia and Post-Human Love

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Monday, 9 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

What Do We Owe Society?

Professor Martin Daunton FBA
Tuesday, 10 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How Are Drones Changing Warfare?

Dr Sophy Antrobus MBE
Wednesday, 11 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Windrush Thinkers and Artists

Professor Richard Drayton
Monday, 26 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The African Diaspora in Britain

Professor Hakim Adi
Thursday, 22 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Political Lawyer

Professor Thomas Grant QC
Monday, 19 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Silence, and the Dynamising of African Creative Resistance

Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE
Thursday, 15 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Mathematics of Musical Composition

Professor Sarah Hart
Tuesday, 13 October 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Eve’s Evil Legacies

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 8 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Free the Nipple!

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The World's First Scientists

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 4:00PM
WATCHED

The World's First University?

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 23 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Cult Films of London

Professor Ian Christie FBA
Wednesday, 27 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The Greatest Speech Of All Time?

Professor Edith Hall
Friday, 1 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

London's First Filmmaker

Professor Ian Christie FBA
Thursday, 24 January 2019 - 10:00AM