Device is incompatible to play the video
Monday, 7 June 2021, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Online Lecture

Cyborg Piano: Magnetic Resonator Piano

Dr Xenia Pestova Bennett

The Magnetic Resonator Piano invented by Andrew McPherson sees electromagnets suspended above the strings of a regular grand piano, allowing for control of minute details of shimmering resonance, crescendo from silence, and sustained "bowed" sounds that the performer can shape directly from the keyboard scanner while retaining the use of the original mechanism. The instrument transforms into an unrecognisable and stunning electroacoustic cyborg. 

The lecturer, a concert pianist and improviser, will introduce this instrument to the audience from a performance perspective.

speaker_xeniapestovabennett-2-370x370.jpg

Dr Xenia Pestova Bennett is an Assistant Professor in Music at the University of Nottingham. 

She is an innovative performer, composer and educator and has earned a reputation as a leading interpreter of uncompromising repertoire by living composers alongside masterpieces from the past. 

Her widely acclaimed recordings are available on Diatribe Records, Innova Recordings, Naxos Records, and TakuRoku. www.xeniapestovabennett.com

Image credit: Carla Rees

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Apes in Science Fiction

Professor Jim Endersby
Monday, 27 September 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Early Universe

Professor Katherine Blundell OBE
Wednesday, 29 September 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Redesigning the World in Which We Live to Put the Planet First

Professor Jacqueline McGlade
Tuesday, 5 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

GPS

Professor Richard Harvey
Tuesday, 12 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Insect Vector-Borne Diseases

Professor Chris Whitty
Wednesday, 13 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Atomic Universe

Professor Katherine Blundell OBE
Wednesday, 3 November 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Modernism Rampant: Shostakovich and Mosolov

Professor Marina Frolova-Walker FBA
Thursday, 23 September 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Mars Missions 2021: Early Discoveries

Professor Andrew Coates
Monday, 20 September 2021 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Nostalgia and Music

Professor Jeremy Summerly
Thursday, 16 September 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The History of Synagogue Music in London

Chazan Eliot Alderman
Tuesday, 8 June 2021 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Caroline Herschel: Discoverer of Comets

Sheila Kanani
Wednesday, 2 June 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Astronomer and the Witch: Kepler’s Mother

Ulinka Rublack FBA
Tuesday, 1 June 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Performing with Toy Pianos

Dr Xenia Pestova Bennett
Wednesday, 26 May 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

What is the opening chord of a Hard Day's Night?

Professor Jeremy Summerly
Thursday, 31 October 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Prokofiev's Epic Opera

Professor Marina Frolova-Walker FBA
Tuesday, 14 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Pauline Oliveros: Hidden Music

Professor Tom Service
Thursday, 21 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Listening Bodies

Professor Tom Service
Friday, 1 February 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Power, Suffering & Drama: The Opera Boris Godunov

Professor Marina Frolova-Walker FBA
Wednesday, 16 January 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Ghostly Sounds

Professor Tom Service
Wednesday, 19 December 2018 - 10:00AM