Device is incompatible to play the video
Wednesday, 9 January 2019, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

Sir Thomas Gresham, London, and Europe

Dr Ian Archer


London was crucially dependent on continental Europe for its economic resilience in the mid-sixteenth century, and Sir Thomas Gresham’s fortune piggy-backed off the special relationship with Antwerp. But the Reformation put the relationship under real strain. This wasn’t a sixteenth-century Brexit (the division was within Christendom), but it posed similar challenges. How did England cope?

dr-ian-archer

Lecturer in Modern History and Fellow of Keble College, University of Oxford.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

James I: The Court at Play

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 18 September 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Everyone Expects the Spanish Inquisition: The Making of Spain’s “Black Legend”

Professor Alec Ryrie
Wednesday, 25 September 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Human Traffic: Race and Post-War Migration Policy

David Olusoga OBE
Tuesday, 1 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

1667 and The Royal Society: A Manifesto for the Future

Dr Patricia Fara
Tuesday, 8 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Sir Joseph Bazalgette (1819-1891) and the Cleansing of the Victorian Metropolis

Dr Stephen Halliday
Wednesday, 9 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Slavery, Memory and Reparations

Olivette Otele
Monday, 14 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Weimar Republic: Germany's First Democracy

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Tuesday, 18 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham 1519–2019

Dr John Guy
Thursday, 13 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Treaty of Versailles: A Hundred Years Later

Professor Margaret MacMillan
Tuesday, 4 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Aristotle's Lyceum

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 30 May 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Cockney Romantics: John Keats and his Friends

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 14 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gresham's Exchange

Professor Stephen Alford
Wednesday, 8 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

London-Derry Connections: The early years, 1613-1640

Dr Ian Archer
Wednesday, 26 June 2013 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham's London

Dr Ian Archer
Tuesday, 27 May 1997 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham and the Tudor Court

Dr Alexandra Gajda
Thursday, 14 November 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Black Tudors: Three Untold Stories

Dr Miranda Kaufmann
Thursday, 17 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

1667 and The Royal Society: A Manifesto for the Future

Dr Patricia Fara
Tuesday, 8 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham 1519–2019

Dr John Guy
Thursday, 13 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gresham's Exchange

Professor Stephen Alford
Wednesday, 8 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

500 Years of Mathematics: Are We Living in a New Golden Age?

Professor Chris Budd OBE
Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 1:00PM