Device is incompatible to play the video
Thursday, 14 November 2019, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Barnard's Inn Hall

Sir Thomas Gresham and the Tudor Court

Dr Alexandra Gajda

This lecture will explore Gresham’s service to the crown during the turbulent politics of mid-Tudor England. 

Gresham served three Tudor monarchs, and his career exemplifies the reliance of the Tudors on the intellectual gifts and financial capital of ‘new men’ in an age of religious transformations and expanding government and warfare. But his public career was dependent on the court itself, and the personal relationships he forged both with the preeminent statesmen of the age and with Queen Elizabeth herself

speaker_alexandragajda-370x370.jpg

Alexandra is John Walsh Fellow and Lecturer in History at the University of Oxford.

Read More
Read Less
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

De-radicalisation - Illusion or Reality?

Lord Carlile of Berriew QC
Thursday, 18 June 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Is Populism a Threat to Democracy?

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Tuesday, 16 June 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

William And Mary: The Court Divided

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 10 June 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Hippocrates and Ancient Greek Medicine

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 28 May 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A History of the Foot

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 14 May 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

War Games at the Field of the Cloth of Gold

Professor Glenn Richardson
Thursday, 7 May 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Black Tudors: Three Untold Stories

Dr Miranda Kaufmann
Thursday, 17 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

1667 and The Royal Society: A Manifesto for the Future

Dr Patricia Fara
Tuesday, 8 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham 1519–2019

Dr John Guy
Thursday, 13 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gresham's Exchange

Professor Stephen Alford
Wednesday, 8 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

500 Years of Mathematics: Are We Living in a New Golden Age?

Professor Chris Budd OBE
Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Natural Environment of Tudor London

Professor Carolyn Roberts
Wednesday, 10 April 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Free the Nipple!

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The World's First Scientists

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 4:00PM
WATCHED

The World's First University?

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 23 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The Greatest Speech Of All Time?

Professor Edith Hall
Friday, 1 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

What is Greek Theatre?

Professor Edith Hall
Wednesday, 28 November 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Was Sappho Really a Women?

Professor Edith Hall
Tuesday, 11 September 2018 - 10:00AM