Device is incompatible to play the video
Wednesday, 8 May 2019, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

Gresham's Exchange

Professor Stephen Alford

‘Go to the Exchange, crave gold as you intend.’' (William Haughton, Englishmen for My Money, 1598). Sir Thomas Gresham's first great contribution to the life of London was the Royal Exchange, the purpose-built merchants' bourse which opened in 1567. 

Why did Gresham finance and build it? What did Londoners (and others) do there? And what does the Exchange tell us about Gresham's ambitions both for himself and for London?

Stephen Alford_370x370_Photo by Jochen Braun.png

Stephen Alford is a British historian and academic. He has been Professor of Early Modern British history at the University of Leeds since 2012.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Blacks Britannica: Diversity in Medieval and Early Modern England

Dr Onyeka Nubia
Wednesday, 6 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Pleasure

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 7 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

What does it mean for Israel to be a Jewish state?

Professor Yaacov Yadgar
Thursday, 14 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Death of Richard III: CSI Meets History

Professor Sarah Hainsworth
Thursday, 21 October 2021 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How the Financial System Works

Professor Alex Edmans
Tuesday, 26 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Manuscripts and Intellectual Legacy of Timbuktu

Robin Walker
Thursday, 28 October 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How to Save and Invest

Professor Alex Edmans
Tuesday, 21 September 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Spanish Culture of Charles I's Court

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 15 September 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Private Palaces: The Mansions of the Marlboroughs

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Tuesday, 15 June 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The History of Synagogue Music in London

Chazan Eliot Alderman
Tuesday, 8 June 2021 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Theatres of War: Crusade, Colonialism and Chivalry in the Middle Ages

Nicholas Paul
Thursday, 3 June 2021 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Caroline Herschel: Discoverer of Comets

Sheila Kanani
Wednesday, 2 June 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Spying for Queen and Country

Professor Stephen Alford
Tuesday, 23 March 2021 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham and the Tudor Court

Dr Alexandra Gajda
Thursday, 14 November 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Black Tudors: Three Untold Stories

Dr Miranda Kaufmann
Thursday, 17 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

1667 and The Royal Society: A Manifesto for the Future

Dr Patricia Fara
Tuesday, 8 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham 1519–2019

Dr John Guy
Thursday, 13 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

500 Years of Mathematics: Are We Living in a New Golden Age?

Professor Chris Budd OBE
Tuesday, 30 April 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Natural Environment of Tudor London

Professor Carolyn Roberts
Wednesday, 10 April 2019 - 6:00PM