Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 1 May 2018, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

In Search of the Medieval Outlaw: The Tales of Robin Hood

Professor Stephen Church


Download the lecture video here

The rulers of the medieval English kingdom discouraged resistance to authority by the widespread use of execution, outlawry, and exile. Yet medieval English society also applauded such resistance. Encapsulated in the tales of Robin Hood, the good outlaw is loyal, courageous, and clever; while the authorities he outwits are disloyal, cowardly, and stupid, using the cover of the law to behave corruptly.

Examination of the outlaw in medieval literature tells us much about the mentality of the medieval English mind.

Speaker_StephenChurch.jpg Professor Church is Professor of Medieval History, School of History at the University of East Anglia. His research is primarily focused on the twelfth century, concentrating on issues surrounding kingship and the exercise of royal power.
Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gothic London: Recreating the Ancient City on Screen

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 24 September 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How To Be An Atheist In Medieval Europe

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 27 September 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Wordsworth, Coleridge and the Poetic Revolution

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 16 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How Natural is Natural? Historical Perspective on Wildlife and the Environment in England

Professor Tom Williamson
Wednesday, 17 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

State Torture

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 18 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Mathematics in War and Peace

Dr June Barrow-Green
Wednesday, 24 October 2018 - 4:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Painting, Patronage and Politics under the Tudors

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 19 September 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Terrorism in Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Tuesday, 19 June 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Conversion of T.S. Eliot

The Rt Revd Lord Harries
Wednesday, 13 June 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Nelson Mandela in the 21st Century

Professor Elleke Boehmer
Wednesday, 6 June 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Russia After Communism

Bridget Kendall MBE
Wednesday, 30 May 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Riddle of Ancient Sparta: Unwrapping an Enigma

Professor Paul Cartledge
Tuesday, 29 May 2018 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Why Do You Use The Word Victim Rather Than Survivor?

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 22 November 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

From 1911-31, To What Extent Do You Think There Was A One-Way Conversation Between Western and Chinese Art and Why?

Professor Craig Clunas
Monday, 20 November 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

Humphry Davy and his Experiments with Nitrous Oxide

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM