Device is incompatible to play the video
Thursday, 12 April 2018, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Barnard's Inn Hall

King Henry III and the Communication of Power

Dr Benjamin Wild

Download the lecture video here

Against the backdrop of King John’s ignominy and the political challenge posed by Magna Carta, which encouraged demands for greater representation in parliament, King Henry III used art, architecture and apparel to exalt his authority and to communicate his divinely-ordained status on a scale never previously seen in England. 

This lecture considers how Henry used art to justify monarchy at the dawn of what is commonly termed the ‘parliamentary state’.

Speaker_BenjaminWild.jpg

Dr Wild is a cultural historian who writes and lectures about the history of dress. He is a consultant lecturer at the Sotheby's Institute of Art, London. His doctorate focused on the material culture of the household of King Henry III of England.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

Thomas Becket and London

Professor Caroline Barron
Tuesday, 25 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Engineering: Archimedes of Syracuse

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 5 March 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Art of Maths

Professor Chris Budd OBE
Tuesday, 10 March 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Corpse Roads: Digital Landscape Archaeology

Dr Stuart Dunn
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Charles II: The Court in Exile

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 18 March 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A History of the Stomach

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 19 March 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Cato Street Conspiracy, 1820: A Study in Terrorism

Vic Gatrell
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A History of the Penis and the Clitoris

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 13 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Making New Plants: A History

Jim Endersby
Monday, 10 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How to Survive a Massacre in Europe’s Wars of Religion

Professor Alec Ryrie FBA
Wednesday, 5 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Homes Fit for Heroes: 100 Years of Council Housing

Professor Steve Schifferes
Monday, 3 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Prohibition: A Battle in America’s Last Culture War

Professor Gary Gerstle
Tuesday, 28 January 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Why Do You Use The Word Victim Rather Than Survivor?

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 22 November 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

Western and Chinese Art

Professor Craig Clunas
Monday, 20 November 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM