Device is incompatible to play the video
Monday, 27 June 2016, 1:00PM - 2:00PM
Museum of London

London Fog and the Impressionists

Dr Christine Corton


Download the lecture video here

The lecture will explore different artistic representations of London Fog by artists such as W L Wyllie, Monet, Whistler and the Japanese artist Yoshio Markino. Viewed largely as a nuisance by London-born artists, it took foreign artists to make London Fog more acceptable.

Part of the Mondays at One series on Artists in London


No reservations are required for this lecture. It will be run on a ‘first come, first served’ basis.
Doors will open 30 minutes before the start of the lecture.
speaker_3christinecorton.jpg.crop_display.jpg

Dr Christine Corton is a Senior Member of Wolfson College, Cambridge. She has worked for many years in publishing houses including Hamish Hamilton and Penguin, and was Production Director at Boxtree Books.

Dr Corton is also Chair of the Lunchtime Seminar Series at Wolfson College and also sits on the Committee of the Humanities Society.

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

27 June 2016

London Fog and the Impressionists
Dr Christine Corton

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

George Eliot and Relationships

Professor Rosemary Ashton OBE
Monday, 25 November 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Man Who Invented Christmas: Film Adaptations of Dickens' A Christmas Carol

Dr Christine Corton
Tuesday, 10 December 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Powell and Pressburger’s Island Stories

Professor Ian Christie FBA
Monday, 27 January 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Thomas Becket and London

Professor Caroline Barron
Tuesday, 25 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Arise, Sir Isaac! Newton’s London career

Dr Patricia Fara
Wednesday, 26 February 2020 - 7:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Art of Maths

Professor Chris Budd OBE
Tuesday, 10 March 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham and the Tudor Court

Dr Alexandra Gajda
Thursday, 14 November 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Powell and Pressburger: The Matter of Britain

Professor Ian Christie FBA
Monday, 11 November 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Slavery and the City of London

Professor Richard Drayton
Monday, 28 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Black Tudors: Three Untold Stories

Dr Miranda Kaufmann
Thursday, 17 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Sir Joseph Bazalgette (1819-1891) And the Cleansing of the Victorian Metropolis

Dr Stephen Halliday
Wednesday, 9 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

1667 and The Royal Society: A Manifesto for the Future

Dr Patricia Fara
Tuesday, 8 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Man Who Invented Christmas: Film Adaptations of Dickens' A Christmas Carol

Dr Christine Corton
Tuesday, 10 December 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Canaletto's London Legacy

Dr Pat Hardy
Monday, 20 June 2016 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Rubens and London

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Monday, 13 June 2016 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Hans Holbein the Younger: 'a man very excellent in taking of physionamies'

Dr Susan Foister
Monday, 6 June 2016 - 1:00PM