Device is incompatible to play the video
Wednesday, 23 May 2018, 1:00PM - 2:00PM
Museum of London

The 30 Years' War (1618-48) and the Second Defenestration of Prague

Professor Peter Wilson

Professor Wilson will examine the causes, conduct and consequences of the Thirty Years’ War, Europe’s most destructive conflict prior to the two 20th-century world wars. The talk takes place on the 400th anniversary of the defenestration of three Habsburg officials by Bohemian malcontents in Prague. This violent act triggered a crisis which expanded into general war despite the best efforts of most of those involved to contain it. 

Why it took so long to make peace, and what extent the conflict can be considered a ‘religious war’ will also be discussed.

Speaker_PeterWilson.jpg

Professor Wilson is Chichele Professor of the History of War at the University of Oxford. He is also a University Academic Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford.

Read More
Read Less
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

De-radicalisation - Illusion or Reality?

Lord Carlile of Berriew QC
Thursday, 18 June 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Is Populism a Threat to Democracy?

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Tuesday, 16 June 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

William And Mary: The Court Divided

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 10 June 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Hippocrates and Ancient Greek Medicine

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 28 May 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A History of the Foot

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 14 May 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Artificial Intelligence and Religion    

Professor Yorick Wilks
Tuesday, 12 May 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Free the Nipple!

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The World's First Scientists

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 4:00PM
WATCHED

The World's First University?

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 23 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Moral Figures: Jesus vs Hitler

Professor Alec Ryrie FBA
Wednesday, 1 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The Greatest Speech Of All Time?

Professor Edith Hall
Friday, 1 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

What is Greek Theatre?

Professor Edith Hall
Wednesday, 28 November 2018 - 10:00AM