Tuesday, 5 February 2013, 6:00PM
Barnard's Inn Hall

The Economics of the Very Long Run: From Fire to Finance in Two Million Years

Professor Mark Schaffer FRSE

An economist's view of two million years of human history, covering milestones such as fire, trade, private property, agriculture, towns - and writing, accounting and finance.  In particular Professor Schaffer examines why living standards for the average human being changed so little over the first two million years, and so much over the past two hundred years.

183

professor-mark-schaffer-frse

Heriot-Watt University

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

5 February 2013

The Economics of the Very Long Run: From Fire to Finance in Two Million Years
Professor Mark Schaffer FRSE

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Elizabeth II

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Policy Responses

Professor Jagjit Chadha
Thursday, 1 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Fifty Years of Conservation Areas

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Migration: A Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A World Without News?

Alan Rusbridger
Tuesday, 20 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Britain and the EU: In or Out - One Year On

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The External Financing Position

Professor Jagjit Chadha
Thursday, 27 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

King George VI

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 25 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

What will happen when Artificial Intelligence and the Internet meet the Professions?

Richard Susskind
Thursday, 30 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Rise and Fall of Sourdough: 6000 Years of Bread

Professor Eric Pallant
Thursday, 23 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Debt and the Household Balance Sheet

Professor Jagjit Chadha
Thursday, 16 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

King Edward VIII

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 14 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

Sir Walter Scott's Involvement In King George IV Visiting Scotland

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:56PM
WATCHED

Was Your View Of Scotland Different Depending On Where You Were From?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:55PM
WATCHED

Problems Causing Lack of Productivity and Comparing to Other Countires

Professor Jagjit Chadha
Thursday, 24 November 2016 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

Do You Think The UK's Weak Trade Unions Is Related To Low Productivity?

Professor Jagjit Chadha
Thursday, 24 November 2016 - 1:58PM