Device is incompatible to play the video
Wednesday, 12 June 2013, 6:00PM
Museum of London

The Historic Collections of St Paul's Cathedral

Simon Carter

The historic collections have undergone some interesting developments in recent years.  We will learn of new insights that have been revealed, and the roles of the library, architectural archive and object collection in the Cathedral's life.

This is the eighth in a series on Special Collections.  The other lectures in this series are on the following collections:
    Anatomy Museums
    The Guildhall Library
    British Architectural Library, RIBA
    The Library and Archives of the Society of Friends
    Lambeth Palace
    Scotland Yard's Crime Museum
    The Royal Horticultural Society's Lindley Library

simon-carter

Head of the Collections Department, St Paul's Cathedral

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

12 June 2013

The Historic Collections of St Paul's Cathedral
Simon Carter

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

Thomas Becket and London

Professor Caroline Barron
Tuesday, 25 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Arise, Sir Isaac! Newton’s London career

Dr Patricia Fara
Wednesday, 26 February 2020 - 7:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Engineering: Archimedes of Syracuse

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 5 March 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Japanese Martyrs

Professor Alec Ryrie FBA
Wednesday, 11 March 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Corpse Roads: Digital Landscape Archaeology

Dr Stuart Dunn
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Charles II: The Court in Exile

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 18 March 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Cato Street Conspiracy, 1820: A Study in Terrorism

Vic Gatrell
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A History of the Penis and the Clitoris

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 13 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Making New Plants: A History

Jim Endersby
Monday, 10 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How to Survive a Massacre in Europe’s Wars of Religion

Professor Alec Ryrie FBA
Wednesday, 5 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Homes Fit for Heroes: 100 Years of Council Housing

Professor Steve Schifferes
Monday, 3 February 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Prohibition: A Battle in America’s Last Culture War

Professor Gary Gerstle
Tuesday, 28 January 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Why Do You Use The Word Victim Rather Than Survivor?

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 22 November 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

Western and Chinese Art

Professor Craig Clunas
Monday, 20 November 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

William Morris and the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:57PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

To What Extent Did The Adventists Bring Stability To A Changing World?

Professor Alec Ryrie FBA
Thursday, 26 January 2017 - 1:58PM