Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 17 January 2017
Museum of London

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields

A question from the lecture 'Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?' by Dr Juliet Shields

2017-01-17_FULLBRIGHT_speaker_370x370.jpg

Dr Shields is an Associate Professor in the Department of English at the University of Washington.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

James I: The Court at Play

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 18 September 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Archers Assemble: Creating The Powell-Pressburger Partnership

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 23 September 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Everyone Expects the Spanish Inquisition: The Making of Spain’s 'Black Legend'

Professor Alec Ryrie FBA
Wednesday, 25 September 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Human Traffic: Race and Post-War Migration Policy

David Olusoga OBE
Tuesday, 1 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

1667 and The Royal Society: A Manifesto for the Future

Dr Patricia Fara
Tuesday, 8 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Sir Joseph Bazalgette (1819-1891) And the Cleansing of the Victorian Metropolis

Dr Stephen Halliday
Wednesday, 9 October 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Weimar Republic: Germany's First Democracy

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Tuesday, 18 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Sir Thomas Gresham 1519–2019

Dr John Guy
Thursday, 13 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Treaty of Versailles: A Hundred Years Later

Professor Margaret MacMillan
Tuesday, 4 June 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Aristotle's Lyceum

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 30 May 2019 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Cockney Romantics: John Keats and his Friends

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 14 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Gresham's Exchange

Professor Stephen Alford
Wednesday, 8 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Why Do You Use The Word Victim Rather Than Survivor?

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 22 November 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

From 1911-31, To What Extent Do You Think There Was A One-Way Conversation Between Western and Chinese Art and Why?

Professor Craig Clunas
Monday, 20 November 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

Sir Walter Scott's Involvement In King George IV Visiting Scotland

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:56PM