Wednesday, 30 September 2015, 6:00PM
Museum of London

1665: London's Last Great Plague

Professor Vanessa Harding

350 years ago, London experienced a devastating outbreak of plague. Some 70,000 people died and the capital's social and economic life was disrupted for months. 

The story is seemingly well-known but on closer examination there are still many disputed or puzzling features. Can we be sure that we understand the epidemic any better than those who lived through it?

speaker_vanessaharding.jpg.crop_display.jpg

Professor Vanessa Harding is based at the Department of History, Classics and Archaeology at Birkbeck, University of London.  Her main areas of research lie in medieval and early modern London, particularly in the interaction of social life and physical environment.

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

30 September 2015

1665: London's Last Great Plague
Professor Vanessa Harding

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

From Royal Highway to Common Sewer: The River Thames and its Architecture

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 13 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Discovering the Port of Roman London

Dr Gustav Milne
Wednesday, 27 September 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Cleaning Up The Thames: Success or Failure?

Professor Carolyn Roberts
Thursday, 28 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Roman London's First Voices

Dr Roger Tomlin
Tuesday, 10 October 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

How To Spot A Roman Emperor

Professor Mary Beard FSA FBA
Thursday, 26 October 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Britain and the EU: In or Out - One Year On

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Migration: A Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Fifty Years of Conservation Areas

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Elizabeth II

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

King George VI

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 25 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Rise and Fall of Sourdough: 6000 Years of Bread

Professor Eric Pallant
Thursday, 23 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Change, Exchange and International Interchange: London and International Trade in the 16th Century

Professor Vanessa Harding
Monday, 3 March 1997 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Humphry Davy and his Experiments with Nitrous Oxide

Dr William Harrop-Griffiths
Monday, 6 February 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

William Morris and the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:57PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM