Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 13 March 2018, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Barnard's Inn Hall

Architecture and the Edwardian Era

Dr Timothy Brittain-Catlin

Descriptions and reconstructions of houses can illuminate other histories and provide a sense of the relationships between people and places. Edwardian architecture in particular provides a fascinating commentary on broader historical themes – not only in its use of style and its remodelling of old buildings but also in the range of new activities it provided for, from ‘servantless’ country and seaside cottages to motor houses, gardens and hobbies rooms. 

Looking at the furnishing and operation of these houses enables lost spaces to be re-established in the mind, and offers insights into the tools and methodologies of historians.

Speaker_TimothyBrittainCatlin.jpg

Dr Brittain-Catlin is a Reader in Architecture at the University of Kent. He specialises in early nineteenth-century and early twentieth English architecture, and writes about new ways of interpreting British architectural history.

Timothy is deputy chairman of the 20th Century Society, and a member of the Southern Buildings Committee of the Victorian Society.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

The African Diaspora in Britain

Professor Hakim Adi
Thursday, 22 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Windrush Thinkers and Artists

Professor Richard Drayton
Monday, 26 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Convincing Fiction

Professor John Mullan
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobites

Professor Murray Pittock
Monday, 2 November 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Ruling Passions: The Architecture of the Cecils

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 4 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Loving Animals: Historical Reflections on Bestiality, Zoophilia and Post-Human Love

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Monday, 9 November 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Political Lawyer

Professor Thomas Grant QC
Monday, 19 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Silence, and the Dynamising of African Creative Resistance

Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE
Thursday, 15 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Mathematics of Musical Composition

Professor Sarah Hart
Tuesday, 13 October 2020 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Eve’s Evil Legacies

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 8 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Engels and Marx: Revolutionaries in London

Dr Tristram Hunt
Tuesday, 6 October 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Srebrenica: the New Evidence

Professor Sir Geoffrey Nice QC
Tuesday, 29 September 2020 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Free the Nipple!

Professor Joanna Bourke FBA
Thursday, 12 March 2020 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The World's First Scientists

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 20 February 2020 - 4:00PM
WATCHED

The World's First University?

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 23 May 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

The Greatest Speech Of All Time?

Professor Edith Hall
Friday, 1 March 2019 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

What is Greek Theatre?

Professor Edith Hall
Wednesday, 28 November 2018 - 10:00AM
WATCHED

Was Sappho Really a Women?

Professor Edith Hall
Tuesday, 11 September 2018 - 10:00AM