Thursday, 13 January 2011, 2:00PM
London Film Museum

Charles Chaplin: Bridging Three Centuries

David Robinson

The phenomenon of Chaplin's mythical status not only in film, but in world cultural history.  This lecture will trace the creation of the myth to Chaplin's British origins; as a child of the poorest streets of Victorian London and as an alumnus of the British music hall at its zenith.

david-robinson

David Robinson is one of the most widely respected film critics and historians in the world. His many books include World Cinema, Hollywood In The Twenties and Buster Keaton. He writes for the Times.

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

13 January 2011

Charles Chaplin: Bridging Three Centuries
David Robinson

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

From Royal Highway to Common Sewer: The River Thames and its Architecture

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 13 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Discovering the Port of Roman London

Dr Gustav Milne
Wednesday, 27 September 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Cleaning Up The Thames: Success or Failure?

Professor Carolyn Roberts
Thursday, 28 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Roman London's First Voices

Dr Roger Tomlin
Tuesday, 10 October 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

How To Spot A Roman Emperor

Professor Mary Beard FSA FBA
Thursday, 26 October 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Britain and the EU: In or Out - One Year On

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A World Without News?

Alan Rusbridger
Tuesday, 20 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Migration: A Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Fifty Years of Conservation Areas

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Elizabeth II

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

King George VI

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 25 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:59PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

Sir Walter Scott's Involvement In King George IV Visiting Scotland

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:56PM
WATCHED

Was Your View Of Scotland Different Depending On Where You Were From?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:55PM