Monday, 12 October 2015, 1:00PM
Museum of London

Mass Burials from St Mary Spital, London

Don Walker

The excavation of St Mary Spital in East London uncovered a large number of emergency mass burial pits. Dating places the burials in the mid-13th century and may provide the first archaeological evidence of a global catastrophic volcanic event. 

Part of the Mondays at One Archaeology Series.

don-walker

Don is Senior Human Osteologist at Museum of London Archaeology. 

Read More
Read Less

Transcript

12 October 2015

Mass Burials from St Mary Spital, London
Don Walker

View PDF
Print
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

King George VI

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 25 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Elizabeth II

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Fifty Years of Conservation Areas

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Migration: A Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Britain and the EU: In or Out - One Year On

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The Rise and Fall of Sourdough: 6000 Years of Bread

Professor Eric Pallant
Thursday, 23 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

King Edward VIII

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 14 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Value of Heritage and the Heritage of Value

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 8 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

The February Revolution in Russia

Professor Dominic Lieven
Tuesday, 7 March 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

"Numberless Diverse Acts of Courage and Belief": The Struggle Against Slavery in History and in the Present

Dr Aidan McQuade
Thursday, 23 February 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Perfection or Pastiche? New Buildings in Old Places

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Archaeology of Disease Documented in Skeletons

Professor Charlotte Roberts
Monday, 26 October 2015 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Ritual Protection Marks and Witchcraft at Knole, Kent

James Wright
Monday, 19 October 2015 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Artefacts and the Study of Life in Roman London

Michael Marshall
Monday, 5 October 2015 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

What Do You Think More's Intention Was In Writing 'Utopia'?

Dr Richard Serjeantson
Tuesday, 22 November 2016 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Was There A Reaction From The Crown And Aristocracy In Response to 'Utopia'?

Dr Richard Serjeantson
Tuesday, 22 November 2016 - 6:57PM
WATCHED

How Do We Put A 'Utopia' into Practice?

Dr Richard Serjeantson
Tuesday, 22 November 2016 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

Did The SS Great Eastern Ever Sail To Australia?

Elliott Wragg
Monday, 24 October 2016 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

When Did They Really Start Trusting Steam And Get Rid Of The Masts?

Elliott Wragg
Monday, 24 October 2016 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

When Did The Royal Dockyards Come Into Being?

Elliott Wragg
Monday, 24 October 2016 - 1:57PM