Monday, 25 September 2017, 6:00PM - 7:00PM
Museum of London

Multimedia 1900: Experience and Entertainment in Everyday Life

Professor Ian Christie

We know a great deal about media gadgetry in retrospect, but much less about how it was perceived and experienced by early users. Historians at the end of the 19th century have traditionally paid little attention to 'new media' experiences, even though media historians would claim that this was the moment when the new media of communication and entertainment were already exercising their fascination.

Suppose we try to imagine a 'day in the life' of some Londoners in 1900, what would we find?

No reservations are required for this lecture. It will be run on a ‘first come, first served’ basis.
Doors will open 30 minutes before the start of the lecture.

Speaker_IanChristie.jpg

Professor Christie is a British film scholar. He is currently Professor of Film and Media History at Birkbeck, University of London.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED

Sir Thomas Gresham and his Vision for Gresham College - Book Launch

Dr Valerie Shrimplin
Tuesday, 12 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

From Royal Highway to Common Sewer: The River Thames and its Architecture

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 13 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Conservative Party

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 26 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Discovering the Port of Roman London

Dr Gustav Milne
Wednesday, 27 September 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Tales from Television: Bringing the Natural World into Your Home

Professor George McGavin
Tuesday, 3 October 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Roman London's First Voices

Dr Roger Tomlin
Tuesday, 10 October 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Britain and the EU: In or Out - One Year On

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

A World Without News?

Alan Rusbridger
Tuesday, 20 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Migration: A Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Fifty Years of Conservation Areas

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Elizabeth II

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

King George VI

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 25 April 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

What Really Happened at the First Moving-Picture Shows

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 30 April 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The 19th Century Craze for Stereoscopic Photography

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 26 February 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

What Really Happened at the First Moving-Picture Shows

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 30 April 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The 19th Century Craze for Stereoscopic Photography

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 26 February 2018 - 6:00PM