Jonathan Bate's Gresham Lectures

Professor Bate was Gresham Professor of Rhetoric from 2017-19. He is a British academic, biographer, critic, broadcaster, novelist and scholar. Professor Bate began his tenure as Gresham Professor of Rhetoric with a series on Shakespeare. The topic for his second lecture series was Wordsworth and the Romantics.

Past Lectures In This Series
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's London and Ancient Rome

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 17 October 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Heroes

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 28 November 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Lovers

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 23 January 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Politics

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 27 February 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Ghosts and Spirits

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 27 March 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Shakespeare's Fame

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 8 May 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Origins of Romanticism

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 18 September 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Wordsworth, Coleridge and the Poetic Revolution

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 16 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Child

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 20 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Lakes from Wordsworth to Beatrix Potter

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 December 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Cockney Romantics: John Keats and his Friends

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 14 May 2019 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Byron and the Age of Sensation

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 June 2019 - 6:00PM