Device is incompatible to play the video
Tuesday, 17 January 2017
Museum of London

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields

A question from the lecture 'Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?' by Dr Juliet Shields

2017-01-17_FULLBRIGHT_speaker_370x370.jpg

Dr Shields is an Associate Professor in the Department of English at the University of Washington.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Enormous Volcanic Eruptions

Professor Sir Stephen Sparks
Wednesday, 14 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Has the Internet Changed News for Better or Worse? 250 Years of Technology

Professor Steve Schifferes
Thursday, 15 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Child

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 20 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Theatre of Dionysus

Professor Edith Hall
Thursday, 29 November 2018 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Understanding Violent People

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 6 December 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Romantic Lakes from Wordsworth to Beatrix Potter

Professor Sir Jonathan Bate CBE FBA
Tuesday, 11 December 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Ending of World War I: The Road to 11 November

Professor David Stevenson
Wednesday, 7 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

How the Reformation Trained Us to Be Sceptics

Professor Alec Ryrie
Thursday, 1 November 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Bribery and Corruption in the City

Nicholas Cooke QC
Tuesday, 30 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Strategy and Democracy

Professor Sir Hew Strachan FBA FRSE
Monday, 29 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Mathematics in War and Peace - Euler's Work on Ballistics

Dr June Barrow-Green
Wednesday, 24 October 2018 - 4:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

State Torture

Professor Joanna Bourke
Thursday, 18 October 2018 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Why Do You Use The Word Victim Rather Than Survivor?

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 22 November 2017 - 6:58PM
WATCHED

From 1911-31, To What Extent Do You Think There Was A One-Way Conversation Between Western and Chinese Art and Why?

Professor Craig Clunas
Monday, 20 November 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Professor Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

Sir Walter Scott's Involvement In King George IV Visiting Scotland

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:56PM