Tuesday, 17 January 2017
Museum of London

Why Is Sir Walter Scott Not In Popular Culture Today?

Dr Juliet Shields

A question from the lecture 'Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?' by Dr Juliet Shields

2017-01-17_FULLBRIGHT_speaker_370x370.jpg

Dr Shields is an Associate Professor in the Department of English at the University of Washington.

Read More
Read Less
Related Future Lectures
Related Past Lectures
WATCHED
Part of a series

Multimedia 1900: Experience and Entertainment in Everyday Life

Professor Ian Christie
Monday, 25 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Conservative Party

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 26 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Discovering the Port of Roman London

Dr Gustav Milne
Wednesday, 27 September 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

Roman London's First Voices

Dr Roger Tomlin
Tuesday, 10 October 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The Guitar in Tudor London

Professor Christopher Page
Wednesday, 11 October 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

The History of Pain

Professor Joanna Bourke
Wednesday, 11 October 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

From Royal Highway to Common Sewer: The River Thames and its Architecture

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 13 September 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Britain and the EU: In or Out - One Year On

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Wednesday, 21 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Migration: A Historical Perspective

Professor Sir Richard Evans FBA
Thursday, 15 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Fifty Years of Conservation Areas

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 7 June 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

From Mr Pickwick to Tiny Tim - Charles Dickens and Medicine

Dr Nicholas Cambridge
Tuesday, 30 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED
Part of a series

Queen Elizabeth II

Professor Vernon Bogdanor FBA CBE
Tuesday, 16 May 2017 - 6:00PM
WATCHED

Did Sir Walter Scott Invent Scotland?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:00PM
WATCHED

An architect points out a possible contradiction...

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:59PM
WATCHED

Most Buildings We Revere Are Designed By Craftsman And Not Architects

Simon Thurley CBE
Wednesday, 1 February 2017 - 6:55PM
WATCHED

The English Image of Scotland Prior to Sir Walter Scott's Writing

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:58PM
WATCHED

Sir Walter Scott's Involvement In King George IV Visiting Scotland

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:56PM
WATCHED

Was Your View Of Scotland Different Depending On Where You Were From?

Dr Juliet Shields
Tuesday, 17 January 2017 - 1:55PM
WATCHED

What Do You Think More's Intention Was In Writing 'Utopia'?

Dr Richard Serjeantson
Tuesday, 22 November 2016 - 6:59PM