Professor Alain Goriely

Professor Alain Goriely FRS

  • Gresham Professor of Geometry (2024 - )

Alain Goriely is a mathematician with broad interests in mathematical methods, mechanics, sciences, and engineering. He is well known for his contributions to dynamical systems, mathematical biology, as well as fundamental and applied mechanics. He is particularly well known for the development of a mathematical theory of biological growth, culminating with his seminal monograph The Mathematics on Mechanics of Biological Growth (2017).

He received his PhD from the University of Brussels in 1994 where he became a lecturer. In 1996, he joined the University of Arizona where he established a research group within the renowned Program of Applied Mathematics. In 2010, he joined the University of Oxford as the inaugural Statutory Professor of Mathematical Modelling and fellow of St. Catherine’s College. He is currently the Director of the Oxford Centre for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

In addition, Alain has enjoyed scientific outreach based on problems connected to his research, including tendril perversion in plants, twining plants, umbilical cord knotting, whip cracking, the shape of seashells, brain modelling, and he is the author of a Very Short Introduction to Applied Mathematics (2017). His work has been recognized by a Sloan Fellowship, a Royal Society Wolfson Research Award, the Cozzarelli Prize from the National Academy of Sciences and the Engineering Medal from the Society of Engineering Sciences. He was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2022.

Past Geometry Professors

Henry Briggs (1596/97)
Peter Turner (1620)
John Greaves (1630/31)
Ralph Button (1643)
Daniel Whistler (1648)
Laurence Rooke (1657)
Isaac Barrow (1662)
Arthur Dacres (1664)
Robert Hooke (1664/65)
Andrew Tooke (1704)
Thomas Tomlinson (1729)
George Newland (1731/32)
William Roman (1749)
Wilfred Clarke (1759)
S Kittleby (1765)
Samuel Birch (1808)
Robert Pitt Edkins (1848)
Benjamin Morgan Cowie (1854)
Karl Pearson (1890)
William Henry Wagstaff (1894)
Louis Melville Milne-Thomson (1946)
Thomas A A Broadbent (1956)
Bryan Thwaites (1969)
Clive W Kilmister (1972)
Sir Christopher Zeeman (1988)
Ian Stewart (1994)
Roger Penrose FRS (1998)
Harold Thimbleby (2001)
Robin Wilson (2004)
John D. Barrow (2008)
Raymond Flood (2012)
Chris Budd OBE (2016)
Sarah Hart (2020)

Find out more about our Professors in Our History section.