Sarah Hart Professor of Geometry

Professor Sarah Hart

  • Professor of Geometry (2020 - )

Sarah Hart is the first woman Professor of Geometry at Gresham College, and was appointed in 2020. She is Professor of Mathematics and until recently was Head of Mathematics and Statistics at Birkbeck, University of London.

She studied at Oxford and Manchester, gaining her PhD in 2000. Postdoctoral research and teaching followed, including a prestigious Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council Fellowship, before she was appointed to a lectureship at Birkbeck in 2004. She has been Professor of Mathematics there since 2013. In 2021 she began a three-year term as President of the British Society for the History of Mathematics.

Sarah is an active researcher, publishing mainly in the area of pure mathematics known as group theory, which has many applications both inside and outside of mathematics, for example in coding theory and cryptography. She is passionate about communicating mathematics and is a sought-after public speaker. She is particularly interested in the links between mathematics, culture and creativity: many of her public lectures and talks in schools are on this topic, especially on mathematics and art.

Past Geometry Professors

Henry Briggs (1596/97)
Peter Turner (1620)
John Greaves (1630/31)
Ralph Button (1643)
Daniel Whistler (1648)
Laurence Rooke (1657)
Isaac Barrow (1662)
Arthur Dacres (1664)
Robert Hooke (1664/65)
Andrew Tooke (1704)
Thomas Tomlinson (1729)
George Newland (1731/32)
William Roman (1749)
Wilfred Clarke (1759)
S Kittleby (1765)
Samuel Birch (1808)
Robert Pitt Edkins (1848)
Benjamin Morgan Cowie (1854)
Karl Pearson (1890)
William Henry Wagstaff (1894)
Louis Melville Milne-Thomson (1946)
Thomas A A Broadbent (1956)
Bryan Thwaites (1969)
Clive W Kilmister (1972)
Sir Christopher Zeeman (1988)
Ian Stewart (1994)
Roger Penrose FRS (1998)
Harold Thimbleby (2001)
Robin Wilson (2004)
John D. Barrow (2008)
Raymond Flood (2012)
Chris Budd OBE (2016)
Sarah Hart (2020)

Find out more about our Professors in Our History section.