Oxford’s Savilian Professors of Geometry: 400 Years On

  • Details
  • Transcript
  • Audio
  • Downloads
  • Extra Reading

England’s earliest chair of mathematics was that of Gresham College, founded in 1597, but who came next? 

The earliest University-based mathematics professorship was Oxford’s Savilian Chair of Geometry, founded in 1619. 

This illustrated lecture outlines the 400-year history of this Chair, from its beginnings to the present day, and features such figures as Henry Briggs, John Wallis, Edmond Halley, James Joseph Sylvester and G. H. Hardy.

There is no transcript for this event

This event was on Tue, 03 May 2022


Professor Robin Wilson

Professor of Geometry

Professor Robin Wilson is Emeritus Gresham Professor of Geometry, a Professor in the Department of Mathematics at the Open University, and a Stipendiary Lecturer at Pembroke College, Oxford. Professor Wilson also regularly teaches as a guest Professor at Colorado College.

Find out more

Support Gresham

Gresham College has offered an outstanding education to the public free of charge for over 400 years. Today, Gresham plays an important role in fostering a love of learning and a greater understanding of ourselves and the world around us. Your donation will help to widen our reach and to broaden our audience, allowing more people to benefit from a high-quality education from some of the brightest minds.