Professor Leslie Thomas KC

Professor Leslie Thomas KC

  • Professor of Law (2020 - 2024)

Professor Leslie Thomas KC was appointed Gresham College Professor of Law in 2020, bringing with him a wealth of knowledge and experience from his illustrious legal career.

Recognised by Chambers and the Legal 500 (2023) as a leading individual, Thomas has consistently demonstrated excellence in his field since earning his QC (now KC) title in 2014. His academic journey, starting from a South London comprehensive and leading him reading law at Kingston University.

Specialising in claims against police and public authorities, as well as corporate bodies, Thomas' expertise spans a wide range of civil wrongs, civil litigation, human rights, data, and privacy claims. His proficiency extends to inquests and public inquiries, where he has tirelessly represented bereaved families, and victims particularly in instances of state or corporate power abuse. He is the joint author of 'Inquests a practitioner's guide' published by LAG (3rd edition 2014).

In addition to his case work, Thomas has received numerous awards for his contributions to law, and his legal acumen is recognised globally, leading to his call to the Bar in several international jurisdictions.

Before joining Gresham College, Thomas served as a joint Head of Chambers at Garden Court Chambers and continues to be an active Bencher to the Inner Temple, where he is Master of equality, diversity, and inclusivity (EDI). He holds positions on the board of the Bar Standards Board, the bar’s regulatory body, and is a member of the King's Counsel Appointments selection panel. He spent many years on the management committee of Liberty and is the former Chair of the Central London Law Centre.

Beyond Gresham College, Thomas also imparts his knowledge as a Visiting Professor of Law at Goldsmiths Law School, University of London.

Professor Thomas' life and work are candidly chronicled in his autobiography, "Do Right and Fear No One" (Simon & Schuster, April 2022), offering a glimpse into his journey and the values that guide him.

Past Law Professors

Henry Mowtlowe (1596)
Clement Corbet (1607)
Thomas Eden (1613)
Benjamin Thorneton (1640)
Joshua Crosse (1644)
Thomas Leonard (1649)
John Bond (1649/50)
Benjamin Thorneton (1660)
Richard Pearson (1667)
John Clarke (1670)
Roger Meredith (1672/73)
Robert Briggs (1686/87)
John Cumyng (1719)
William Mace (1744)
Joseph Jeffries (1767)
T Taylor (1784)
William Jocelyn Palmer (1808)
William Palmer (1836)
John Thomas Abdy (1858)
George Holmes Blakesley (1896)
William Blake Odgers (1907)
Geoffrey Walter Wrangham (1925)
William Arthian Davies (1934)
Eric Sachs (1946)
Richard O'Sullivan (1950)
Richard Jon Harvey (1962)
R F V Heuston (1965)
P R Glazebrook (1971)
Clive M Schmitthoff (1976)
Kenneth R Simmonds (1988)
David Calcutt (1992)
Simon Lee (1995)
Gerald Wakefield (1998)
Richard Susskind (2000)
Vernon Bogdanor (2004)
Baroness Deech of Cumnor DBE (2008)
Geoffrey Nice (2012)
Jo Delahunty (2016)
Leslie Thomas (2020)

Find out more about our Professors in Our History section.